Can RAM from PM 2.7 be transferred to PM 2.5 Quad?

Discussion in 'Macintosh Computers' started by Zoowatch, Oct 21, 2005.

  1. Zoowatch
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2004
    Location:
    Sheffield, UK
    #1
    i know that the Quad 2.5 Power Mac uses 533 DDR2 SDRAM

    but do they also accept DDR400 SDRAM (PC3200) from Power Mac Dual 2.7?

    thanks
     
  2. risc
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors 68030

    risc

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2004
    Location:
    Melbourne, Australia
  3. AP_piano295
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2005
    #3
    wow you must have alot of cash to blow if you can go out and get a new top of the line powermac every time they make a revision.
     
  4. Makosuke
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors 603

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2001
    Location:
    The Cool Part of CA, USA
    #4
    Indeed, no. The pin count on DDR2 and DDR is different, so it wouldn't even physically fit even if it were fast enough.
     
  5. Zoowatch
    Expand Collapse
    thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2004
    Location:
    Sheffield, UK
    #5
    i'm just curious about RAM

    not really intending to get the Quad PM
    (can't afford anyway)
     

Share This Page