Can Somebody help me with my new external display

Discussion in 'Mac Basics and Help' started by hockeymonkey83, Jan 17, 2007.

  1. hockeymonkey83 macrumors member

    hockeymonkey83

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2007
    Location:
    Norfolk, VA
    #1
    I have been trying to hook up my Macbook 13" to my 32" LCD television but cant really figure things out when I plug in my mini dvi cable the max that the display tab in system preferences lets me go is 1024 x 768, but my if my notebook display can stay at 1280x800 but it goes to a small sqaure screen instead of filling the whole notebook screen, i guess i am trying to figure out how to get the tv to see the output as widescreen and the computer to increase the resoultion higher, sorry if all this sounds a little confusing but i am still trying to figure it all out
    Thanks
    Shawn
     
  2. superbovine macrumors 68030

    superbovine

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2003
    #2
    what model is your tv?
     
  3. hockeymonkey83 thread starter macrumors member

    hockeymonkey83

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2007
    Location:
    Norfolk, VA
    #3
    its a insignia 32" flat screen lcd I know that they are made by LG for best buy, its says the max resoultion is 1380 or something around there, I dont know why it see the input as a square and not widescreen is it cause the mac is outputing 1028 x 768?
     
  4. benthewraith macrumors 68040

    benthewraith

    Joined:
    May 27, 2006
    Location:
    Miami, FL
    #4
    What exactly is the max resolution for your tv?
     
  5. hockeymonkey83 thread starter macrumors member

    hockeymonkey83

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2007
    Location:
    Norfolk, VA
    #5
    1366 x 768 pixel resolution for the tv
    why does the macbook screen shrink to black bars on the side when i connect it?
     
  6. superbovine macrumors 68030

    superbovine

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2003
    #6
    well, if you can find out the model number of your tv you look up max resolution supported by the pc inputs. not all tv's a pc friendly. if you have the manual with your tv you can look up the specs for yourself.
     
  7. hockeymonkey83 thread starter macrumors member

    hockeymonkey83

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2007
    Location:
    Norfolk, VA
  8. superbovine macrumors 68030

    superbovine

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2003
    #8
    with your tv manual or online.
     
  9. coastertux macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2006
    #9
    Try turning off display mirroring, then OSX should automatically set each display to its native resolution.
     

Share This Page