Can someone elaborate why my MacBook runs at 1.5GHz insted of 2GHz?

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by XP Defector, Sep 9, 2006.

  1. XP Defector macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2006
    #1
    Is this to do with temperature? Does it affect performance? Obviously when the CPU is pushed it maxes out to 2Ghz (according to CoreDuo), but wouldn't things be faster if the the CPU was maxed out constantly at 2GHz?

    Cheers.
     
  2. Fleetwood Mac macrumors 65816

    Fleetwood Mac

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2006
    Location:
    Canada
    #2
    I'm pretty sure this has something to do with energy saving.

    On battery, no?
     
  3. thugpoet22 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2005
    Location:
    New York
    #3
    Im pretty new to the mac worked but for the most part processors either intel or amd act the same across all platforms, meaning that they act according the the software or the instructions that have to be processed. I wouldn't expect the processor to run at full tilt unless your were using an app that required all of that power. And also being that your on a portable, like the last post said, it might have something to do with saving battery life.
     
  4. telecomm macrumors 65816

    telecomm

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2003
    Location:
    Rome
    #4
    Do you mean that "About This Mac" tells you your processor is 1.5 Ghz, or that your processor isn't running at 100% all the time?:confused:
     
  5. NextTuesday macrumors member

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2006
    Location:
    Cork, Ireland
    #5
    Check what your Energy Settings are, Processor should be set to High.
    I think that OS X looks at how much Raw Intel Core Power that you need and then calculates how fast the processor should run at to conserve battery power. Isn't it 2 processors anyways? So its like 2 x 1.5GHz (I know its a processor core and not just a processor but yeah...)
     
  6. XP Defector thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2006

Share This Page