can someone explain to me how ram works?

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by MUCKYFINGERS, Feb 5, 2006.

  1. MUCKYFINGERS macrumors 6502a

    MUCKYFINGERS

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2005
    Location:
    CA
    #1
    alright, so i have 1 gb of ram, and after having my machine on for awhile and multi tasking here and there, i now have only firefox, bittorrent os x, and adium x open, as well as a few widgets. dash monitor says i have 102 M ram wired, 238 M ram active, FIVE HUNDRED SIXTY ONE M ram inactive, and 121 M ram free.

    how does this all work, and how cna i free up the inactive ram to free ram? thanks in advance. :)
     
  2. grapes911 Moderator emeritus

    grapes911

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2003
    Location:
    Citizens Bank Park
    #2
    There are tons of threads about this. Search for inactive RAM and you'll probably get your answer.
     
  3. katie ta achoo macrumors G3

    Joined:
    May 2, 2005
    #3
    how stuff works page on RAM

    Pretty interesting...

    Widgets take up huge amounts of RAM. Having a lot open can really slow your computer down.
     
  4. MUCKYFINGERS thread starter macrumors 6502a

    MUCKYFINGERS

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2005
    Location:
    CA
    #4
    ah, okay, i should have known to use the search function.

    thanks guys.
     
  5. grapes911 Moderator emeritus

    grapes911

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2003
    Location:
    Citizens Bank Park
    #5
    Yeah, I'd explain it, but there many other users have already said it and they'd probably did a better job than I could. :eek:
     

Share This Page