Can someone help me to remove Virus Barrier???

Discussion in 'Mac Basics and Help' started by macintoshxiii, Sep 4, 2007.

  1. macrumors regular

    macintoshxiii

    Joined:
    May 15, 2006
    #1
    I had tried to install the stupid dumb program Virus Barrier, however i already uninstalled but i still can see it when i right click on file.... Virus Barrier X4. How can i remove that? pls advise.... tried been to the home folder to llok at the contextual but nothing is there.... help!!!
     
  2. Moderator emeritus

    mad jew

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2004
    Location:
    Adelaide, Australia
    #2
    Try looking in your hard drive's Library, at those Contextual Menu Items.
     
  3. macrumors 603

    swiftaw

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2005
    Location:
    Omaha, NE, USA
    #3
    Did you look in ~/Library/Contextual Menu Items?

    How about /Library/Contextual Menu Items?
     
  4. thread starter macrumors regular

    macintoshxiii

    Joined:
    May 15, 2006
    #4
    I did tried to look into the contextual menu items but there ain't a thing bout that virus barrier.... gosh!
     
  5. macrumors 603

    swiftaw

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2005
    Location:
    Omaha, NE, USA
    #5
    There are two folders, one in the HD's library and one in the library in your user account, did you check both?
     
  6. thread starter macrumors regular

    macintoshxiii

    Joined:
    May 15, 2006
    #6
    Yes i did... nothing found! ****....
     
  7. macrumors 603

    swiftaw

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2005
    Location:
    Omaha, NE, USA
  8. thread starter macrumors regular

    macintoshxiii

    Joined:
    May 15, 2006
    #8
    in fact a couple of times rebooting.... what can i do???????
     
  9. macrumors 603

    swiftaw

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2005
    Location:
    Omaha, NE, USA
    #9
    It's strange, it should be in one of the contextual menu items folders, the fact that it is not yet still shows up is very strange.

    Have you tried using spotlight to find any files containing the name virus barrier?

    You could also reinstall virus barrier and see if anything appears in contextual menu items then.

    You could also try removing the finder's preference file, com.apple.finder.plist
     
  10. Moderator emeritus

    mad jew

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2004
    Location:
    Adelaide, Australia
    #10
    There are three relevant Contextual Menu Items folders; one for each Library. Give us a list of each folder's items so we can compare them to our own and tell you if perhaps it has been named something obscure.
     
  11. Moderator emeritus

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2002
    Location:
    Gone but not forgotten.
  12. thread starter macrumors regular

    macintoshxiii

    Joined:
    May 15, 2006
    #12
    I've got nothing more that toast cm, stuffit cm, automator, fold action, graphic converter, spotlight.... that's all i can see....
     
  13. Moderator emeritus

    mad jew

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2004
    Location:
    Adelaide, Australia
    #13
    Are you sure? Over the three separate folders?
     
  14. thread starter macrumors regular

    macintoshxiii

    Joined:
    May 15, 2006
    #14
    I'm pretty sure...
     
  15. Moderator emeritus

    mad jew

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2004
    Location:
    Adelaide, Australia
    #15
  16. macrumors member

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2007
    Location:
    Netherlands
    #16
    Any change there are "hidden" files in the Contextual Menu Items folders?
     
  17. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2007
    Location:
    U.S.A.
    #17
    Removing Intego Virus Barrier

    I also had this problem with the Virus Barrier software. You can't just drag it to the Trash to get rid of it. The only thing that worked for me was to download the software again (had to go thru the whole darn registration process to get another link to the site). When you click on the desktop icon, as if installing the program again, an option comes up to uninstall.

    This took care of the problem for me.:D
     
  18. thread starter macrumors regular

    macintoshxiii

    Joined:
    May 15, 2006
    #18
    Ok sure thanks... i did it...
     
  19. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2008
    #19
    I know this is a really old thread but I had the same problem. The final solution was just to download the .dmg again, click the installer, and use uninstall.

    I downloaded it from http://mac.majorgeeks.com/download5850.html

    so i didn't have to register.
     
  20. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2008
    #20
    macintoshxiii, I too had the same problem but this is what I did to fix it.

    removed Virus Barrier (in applications)
    removed Net update (in applications)

    also what the other guys have said in there posts the Contextual Menu Items in the library and also system/library
    VirusBarrierCM
    also remove from start up on your user name you login with.

    then do a restart, know notice you still have the castle in the tool bar, to get rid of this there is a folder in system/library called intego drag this folder to trash.

    restart the the castle will be gone.
    hope this works for you
     
  21. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2009
  22. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2009
  23. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2009
    #23
    Still problems...

    Hello,

    I have the same problem. After uninstalling this application, the items still appear in the context menu....

    Rene
     
  24. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2010
    #24
    oh my gosh, thank you so much, 24davo!! that really worked. :D I was a little wary about clicking on a link and opening that thing, but it worked like a dream. I've been trying to get rid of that crap for months!!! :rolleyes:

    This really works!! :D
     
  25. macrumors newbie

    MyMaria

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2009
    #25
    Also found the Intego uninstaller very very helpful!

    Curiosity killed the cat when I installed the antivirus when I was intrigued by it only to uninstall it immediately after because it slowed down my MB... a year later (that's today!) i did some cleaning on my mac and found out through the Activity Monitor that I still had virusbarriers running! And it was eating up so much of my MB's memory.. OMG.. I didn't even know it was still there all this time! *groan*
     

Share This Page