Can the Cinema HD run this somehow? (screenshot)

Discussion in 'Mac Accessories' started by pionata, Nov 21, 2005.

  1. pionata macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2005
    Location:
    Montreal
    #1
    http://g-prime.net/x360/ (xbox 360 in 1080i on dells)

    Anyone knows if the cinema display support 1920x1080 inputs (I know you still need a analog to dvi)?

    Can someone try with some custom resolution software?
     
  2. NerdBoy macrumors member

    NerdBoy

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2005
    Location:
    Why do you need to know?
    #2
    Even if someone did, it probably wouldn't work, even if you had the Xbox 360 VGA adapter(with a VGA-DVI adapter), or an analog to dvi adapter. Why? because the list or resolutions is supports are: 2560 x 1600 pixels (optimum resolution),2048 x 1280,1920 x 1200,1280 x 800, and 1024 x 640. Perhaps you could on the 1920 x 1200 setting , but it wouldn't work in full 1080 HD.
     
  3. NerdBoy macrumors member

    NerdBoy

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2005
    Location:
    Why do you need to know?
    #3
    do you know what kind of dell screen those are? It would be nice to check the specs, and if the listed resolution is 1920 x 1200, the cinema display might work, but how could you get a HD to dual-link DVI adapter?
     
  4. NerdBoy macrumors member

    NerdBoy

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2005
    Location:
    Why do you need to know?
    #4
    never mind, there is a pic saying the model number
     
  5. NerdBoy macrumors member

    NerdBoy

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2005
    Location:
    Why do you need to know?
    #5
    whoops! the specs say "Clear, sharp images at a maximum resolution of up to 1920x1200 pixels" so yes, if you could get a dual-link DVI adapter, the apple 23 or 30'' display would work.
     
  6. pionata thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2005
    Location:
    Montreal
    #6
    Its the Dell 2405fwp (has 4 input) and its using an adapter that was released for the xbox360 by microsoft (sells 20$).

    Found it here (french):
    http://www.pcinpact.com/actu/news/U...LCD_24_premieres_images.htm?vc=1&p=2&#c447118

    and here:
    http://www.hardforum.com/showthread.php?t=979436&page=1&pp=20


    I as thinking about buying an cinema display soon, and apparently the x360 has the display scaler build in to adjust to the monitor (through not necessary since the dell 2405 support 1080i). Im wondering if the ps3 also has a scaler and if the apple cinema display can support more resolutions than its advertised resolutions (and stretch them?).
     
  7. pionata thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2005
    Location:
    Montreal
    #7
    I dont think you need a dual-link for an apple 23", the major problem is that the vgator is almost the price of another xbox 360 :confused: and might not even work.

    Im realy interested in finding someone that can run this on a cinema display mostly becose I prefer the cinema display design...
     
  8. NerdBoy macrumors member

    NerdBoy

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2005
    Location:
    Why do you need to know?
    #8
    why would you need an adapter? on the dell site, it says that the display has component input, which is what the 360 HD adapter supports.
     
  9. pionata thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2005
    Location:
    Montreal
    #9
    I have no idea why hes using this video adapter:
    http://www.xbox.com/fr-FR/hardware/x/xbox360vgahdcable/

    Ill read the thread and see if he tells why.

    Edit: its just a mistake, its not necessary.
     
  10. Laser47 macrumors 6502a

    Laser47

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2004
    Location:
    Maryland
    #10
    Even if the xbox came out with DVI. It would not work with a compute monitor because of the copy protection of DVI.
     
  11. pionata thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2005
    Location:
    Montreal
    #11
    I think you might be mistaken on this, the xbox will certainly not care if the output is a computer monitor, a tv, or a hdtv; it just send the signal. As for the display, it does not care either what medium sends the signal, as long as it get a compatible resolution and refresh rate. All those can be choosen through many scalers and adapters, but the console itself might adjust itself to the monitor supported resolution, as the xbox apparently do with its internal scaler (its been tested in 1024x768 and 1280x1024 at gamespot.com).

    So, unless the ps3 has some kind of heavy protection system (wich will probably wont appen, it would just make angry custumers again (lol new cds copy protection was a serious failure)).

    Im guessing the xbox360 would work with:

    xbox360 vga adapter ---- vgator ---- ACD 20" or 23"

    But unless someone tries it out, we will never know.
     
  12. pionata thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2005
    Location:
    Montreal
    #12

Share This Page