Can the current Intelitoshes run Vista?

Discussion in 'Buying Tips and Advice' started by daneoni, May 3, 2006.

  1. daneoni macrumors G4

    daneoni

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2006
    #1
    I've heard vista has pretty steep requirements to get full features of which 2GB RAM and at least 128MB Video Card is one. Also a i hear a 64 bit processor would be nice. All these will help but are not the minimum hardware requirements.

    I was wondering if the current intel macs have the necessary hardware to boot Vista once they get the EFI thing sorted out. Although personally i wouldn't even touch Vista until Service Pack 2 was out, a friend of mine wants to get a mac but he wants to be able to run windows including the next gen windows.

    What do you guys think?
     
  2. Malcster macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2005
    Location:
    Bristol, UK
    #2
    Yup, its not entirely straightforward yet i believe, but it can be done (they'll sort out the issues over time too)

    I won't be doing it, leopard will be around by then anyway :)

    http://forum.osx86project.org/index.php?showtopic=14448

    edit. quick thought, when vista is released they will probably update Boot Camp to make it vista compatible.
     
  3. daneoni thread starter macrumors G4

    daneoni

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2006
  4. BurtonCCC macrumors 65816

    BurtonCCC

    Joined:
    May 2, 2005
    Location:
    Wheaton/Normal, IL
    #4
    I don't know why Vista would have steep requirements... have you seen the screenshots of the Beta? It looks like a cross between ME and XP with nothing new that would require any sort of additional work on the part of your computer. I'm just going on looks though. All the features that Gates copies from OS X could require some power on your computer's part. :rolleyes:

    Daniel.
     
  5. FF_productions macrumors 68030

    FF_productions

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2005
    Location:
    Mt. Prospect, Illinois
    #5

    O my, that new internet explorer looks so similar to this one internet application for the mac...i think it's called...safari?:mad:

    I hate microsoft, can they come up with their own ideas??
     
  6. MacBoobsPro macrumors 603

    MacBoobsPro

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2006
  7. gco212 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2004
    #7
    Yes, and Apple came up with widgets and fast user switching. Companies take ideas from others, change them (in the hopes of improving them), and then sell those products as their own. Apple does it, Microsoft does it, every major company does it, or else they'd go out of business.
     
  8. macOSX-tastic macrumors 6502a

    macOSX-tastic

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2005
    Location:
    At the Airport. UK
    #8
    there is much, much sense in what you say......

    but it just ain't right, dammit.

    S
     
  9. generik macrumors 601

    generik

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2005
    Location:
    Minitrue
    #9
    Except even at 10.1 Windows is infinitely more useful than OSX when it comes to running applications. There are so many apps out there that just aren't available on the Mac, and unless 10.5 allows you to actually run Windows apps in MacOS (I doubt it though) it seems like nothing is gonna change.

    10.5 will probably be 10.1 with a few more buttons, just as 10.4 is really 10.3 with a tiny blue magnifying glass in a corner..
     
  10. bodeh6 macrumors 6502a

    bodeh6

    Joined:
    May 18, 2005
    #10
    I hope you know that Vista is at least 1 year away after it was recently delayed till Q2 2007.
     
  11. gman71882 macrumors 6502

    gman71882

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2005
    Location:
    Houston, Tx
    #11
    Doesnt Vista require a 64 bit processor??
    if so then you wont be able to install it on the Current Intel Macs. Hopefully when the new ones come out in the Fall they will all have the 64 bit processors and a nice speed boost @ that.
     
  12. dejo Moderator

    dejo

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2004
    Location:
    The Centennial State
    #12
    Please, please don't call them "Intelitoshes" anymore. That's just... well, silly.
     
  13. AvSRoCkCO1067 macrumors 65816

    AvSRoCkCO1067

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2005
    Location:
    CO
    #13
    Definitely not. Microsoft wouldn't be able to sell Vista if it required 64-bit processors.
     
  14. FF_productions macrumors 68030

    FF_productions

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2005
    Location:
    Mt. Prospect, Illinois
  15. Stampyhead macrumors 68020

    Stampyhead

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2004
    Location:
    London, UK
    #15
    Makes me think of TeleTubbies.
     
  16. Superdrive macrumors 6502a

    Superdrive

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2003
    Location:
    Dallas, Tx
    #16
    http://www.winsupersite.com/showcase/winvista_buypc.asp

    True specs haven't been released, but supposedly Core Duo should have no issues handling it. 512mb is the minimum ram. If you want the Aero Glass effect, you will need a dedicated video card. Looks like most Macs are Vista ready, even the Core Solo should be okay. Anyone on the Mac Mini didn't want that nasty excuse for a GUI anyways.
     
  17. Nermal Moderator

    Nermal

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2002
    Location:
    New Zealand
    #17
    Don't forget the broken International Preferences!
     
  18. Vaphoron macrumors 6502

    Vaphoron

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2004
    Location:
    Maryland
    #18
    Haha, thats hilarious.
     
  19. plarusa macrumors member

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2006
    #19
    Purchasing a MAC to run Windows is laughable. You should strive for the best sinergy between hardware and software. In my opinion, to date this can only be achieved by running OS X on a MAC, period. This is coming from a long time PC/Windows/Linux/FreeBSD user, and current Windows/Linux system programmer. As far as Vista is concerned, you don't want to run it. It's slow, buggy and a poor imitation of OS X.
     
  20. daneoni thread starter macrumors G4

    daneoni

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2006
    #20
    Agreed but not everyone sees it that way yet. Some people are slaves to microsoft. Theres is always that one app that a company requires you to run and in this case its windows native only.

    **I like Intelitosh because its soo wrong yet you can't help but laugh at it.

    **Agreed about vista being a copy of OSX for example- Flip 3D is blatantly expose, the login interface on vista is like that of Tiger, search is like spotlight no arguments there. Microsoft should start hiring creative people and spend more money on R&D instead of just buying technology and other companies whose products aren't great to begin with.

    Microsoft is a software maker by default, a larger portion of their focus should be aimed at that instead of trying to spread their wings everywhere, which, in their case isn't going well.

    I guess all in most current computers can run "basic" vista but to run the ultimate edition you'd need some major power.
     
  21. timswim78 macrumors 6502a

    timswim78

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2006
    Location:
    Baltimore, MD
    #21
    I'm pretty sure that Konfabulator released widgets (for OS X) before Apple did.
     
  22. Josh396 macrumors 65816

    Josh396

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2004
    Location:
    Peoria/Chicago, IL
    #22
    I believe the guy who created Konfabulator used to work for Apple but was fired or resigned and created Konfabulator then. A little later Apple showed off Dashboard and it's Widgets.
     
  23. timswim78 macrumors 6502a

    timswim78

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2006
    Location:
    Baltimore, MD
    #23
    He left Apple in 1997, according to this. Konfabulator was launched in 2003.
    http://groups.google.com/group/comp...c6f7f5f?q=arlo+rose&hl=en&lr=&ie=UTF-8&rnum=8

    The Fanboys and the Apple bashers have been warring over this for a while, it seems:
    http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Konfabulator#.22Dashboard_versus_Konfabulator.22_Debate
     

Share This Page