Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

Matt*

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Apr 16, 2006
This isn't actually a question about the mini, but the MacBook (iBook replacement, not Pro). As it looks like we'll probably be stuck with integrated graphics (at least, that's the worst case scenario), and the mac mini is a comparable system...

I've been stuck on a 12'' iBook (800mhz G4) for the past two and a half years, and my eyes are starting to complain. Being a student, I can't really afford anything better than a MacBook, but I need a bigger screen so I'm getting a Dell 2005FPW to go with it.

On the topic of integrated graphics, does anyone know if it'll run a playable Half Life 2? I'm a _very_ casual gamer, but even a casual gamer needs a playable framerate. I came across some benchmarks somewhere for the mini (again, as it's a comparable system to the MacBook) and have been trying to find them again but with no luck. Do you think it could run Aero (as in Windows Vista)?

Incidently (getting all my questions in the one thread), why is the MacBook Pro more expensive than the iMac?! Take a look at top iMac model, and the maxed out MacBook Pro. Same processor, same graphics card, both have iSight, frontrow, 'super'drive, etc. Except the iMac has a /bigger/ harddrive and /larger/ screen. So why is the MacBook Pro more expensive? They're both well engineered, so I can't see that being it... It's just something that I've been wondering about anyway.

Finally, (thanks for reading this far), I can't upgrade often (on account of the whole student thing), so should I wait for 64-bit processors? Do any of you anticipate some major new technology that will require them, or should I be okay? It's not as if the Merom processors would go into the MacBooks anyway, but still...

Many thanks for any help,
Matt.