Can you add a iPad 3G plan to an existing AT&T Wireless acct?

Discussion in 'iPad' started by duelingdragons, Apr 23, 2010.

  1. macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    May 13, 2007
    Location:
    Orlando, FL
    #1
    My gf and I have a shared plan (both have iPhones).. can I simply add the 3G iPad package to that account?

    Would be easier to just have everything in one place.
     
  2. macrumors 65816

    ijen0311

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2009
    #2
    No... it's separate.
     
  3. macrumors 601

    jaw04005

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2003
    Location:
    AR
    #3
    Unfortunately, no.

    I feel the same way. My business actually pays my wireless bill, and I wanted to tack it on to that. But, no it’s pre-paid only.
     
  4. thread starter macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    May 13, 2007
    Location:
    Orlando, FL
    #4
    Lame.
     
  5. macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2008
    #5
    There is absolutely no point in doing that. The 3G iPad is prepaid so it will not coincide with your post paid account. You can turn the 3G service on and off whenever you want.
     
  6. macrumors 601

    jaw04005

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2003
    Location:
    AR
    #6
    No point, huh?

    1) Corporate/business reasons (as I mentioned above), not everyone has access to a company credit card or gets reimbursed for charges on a personal one

    2) Convenience

    3) Pre-paid vs. revolving account

    Once the 3G gets launched, AT&T will do something. You can’t target corporate customers (like sales reps.) if the iPad 3G data plan can’t be attached to a corporate account.
     
  7. macrumors 601

    goobot

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2009
    Location:
    long island NY
    #7
    the price is already half would it should be. how about they give you the 60 dollar price then let you use you 5% discount?
     
  8. macrumors 6502a

    CarboysDesire

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2008
    Location:
    Las Vegas
    #8
    My take is that it is because it is not a traditional "account" that you will pay after usage. You are paying up-front with either a credit card or a debit card. This allows them to sell the 3G to anyone regardless of their credit history. As long as they have a way to pay they can use the service. I'm curious to know if you'll even see a statement at the end of the cycle--you may not. Instead you may get an e-mailed receipt at the time of purchasing each month and that's it.
     
  9. macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2007
    #9
    How does this post make any sense relative to what was originally posted?

    no one's asking for a DISCOUNT.

    They're saying the corporate account = company paid
    If personal account = many company won't pay

    it's not the 5% discount people care about.
     
  10. macrumors 6502a

    CarboysDesire

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2008
    Location:
    Las Vegas
    #10
    I kinda like that it is going to be separate, because if it were part of my regular account I may forget to turn off the service or to change to another plan.

    For business use, there is no reason a corporate credit card could not be used. If someone doesn't have one and has to use a personal card and then ask for reimbursement I can see how someone with a company-paid cell phone would not like it, but it is not a cell-phone. Do not business travelers have to claim reimbursement on wifi-charges in hotels and airports? How is it any different?
     
  11. macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2004
    #11
    There hasn't been any discussion of corporate pricing or corporate plans for iPad 3G data. I wouldn't be surprised if AT&T doesn't make something available. I suspect it will depend on them getting a few inquiries from corporate customers before they figure out that a pre-paid plan doesn't work in that situation.
     
  12. macrumors 6502

    nj-mac-user

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2009
    Location:
    New Jersey
    #12
    I don't think they're intending on targeting business customers. Even so, it may make more sense in other situations where a business customer can actually use the service if needed because their company doesn't want to pay for it.
     
  13. macrumors 6502a

    Aduntu

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2010
    #13
    You have heard of expense reports, haven't you?

    And don't give me some excuse why they won't reimburse you because that's just retarded.

    If it's still a problem, just pay the stupid $15-30.
     
  14. macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2007
    #14
    It takes time to be reimbursed. It requires more paperwork to be reimbursed. It can be a hassle to be reimbursed.

    Adding the 3G iPad to a corporate at&t account will be possible at some point. I highly doubt they will force all users to be prepaid when businesses will want to add them to their accounts.
     
  15. macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2010
    Location:
    San Jose
    #15
    Yes, but the account # will be different.
     
  16. macrumors 68000

    sapporobaby

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2007
    Location:
    3 earth minutes from your location....
    #16
    Can you call AT&T and ask them?
     
  17. macrumors member

    Bierp

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2010
    #17
    You can, but the answer is definitely no. iPad is fully prepaid and will not attach to any existing billing.

    Will this change someday? Who knows, but that's a for sure right now.


    B
     
  18. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2011
    #18
    not completely true

    We had two that arrived on my desk at work with 3G service activated on arrival, the cellular data area is not even accessible from the device.
     
  19. macrumors 603

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2010
    Location:
    US
    #19
    As you might expect, things have changed some in the eleven months since the previous posts on this thread. It can be helpful to check the posting date before replying.... :)
     
  20. macrumors 6502a

    ghostlyorb

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2010
    Location:
    Virginia, USA
    #20
    That would be cool for a lot of people. But since they give you the option of month to month... yeah. They should give you the option for both though.
     
  21. macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2011
    #21
    I think with the new plans they let you right?

    Since it's pre-paid and post-paid.
     
  22. macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2011
    Location:
    Midwest
    #22
    No they still don't allow it. I actually just called yesterday and asked.. What a bummer :(
     
  23. macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2009
    #23
    The postpaid plan allows it. I added my new plan to my existing account today.
     
  24. macrumors 68040

    djransom

    Joined:
    May 14, 2008
    Location:
    Chi-Town
    #24
    Same here. Call CS and press the option for sales and they will take care of it for you.
     

Share This Page