Can you connect cable internet to new iMac?

Discussion in 'iMac' started by MiniD3, Aug 10, 2013.

  1. macrumors 6502

    MiniD3

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2013
    Location:
    Australia
    #1
    Hi Guys,
    hearing about the possible new chip and faster wireless for the iMac,
    Buying now, I will not have the above
    Ive maxed out everthing so I guess, shouldnt make too much difference

    Is there a way to connect cable direct to an iMac?
    Just thought I maybe able to make things faster than just my "old" wireless set-up
    ....Gary
     
  2. macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2012
    #2
    Yeah you can hook up a cable modem to your iMac using an Ethernet connection. Your imac will have a gigabit Ethernet port which is plenty fast for any Internet connection. What Internet speed do you pay for? What kind of wireless router do you use? Depending on your Internet speed and wifi connection speed, your Internet speed may be the limiting factor. If that is the case, you may not see an improvement.

    If it is convienent to hook up via Ethernet, then do it. It can't hurt.
     
  3. thread starter macrumors 6502

    MiniD3

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2013
    Location:
    Australia
    #3
    Not sure about the speed but the cable is pretty quick
    The modem is an old wireless one from our local Telstra company, Im guessing it would be slow as Ive had it for years, a new router is on the list, I may need to get a long ethernet cable due to the iMac location
    ....Gary
     
  4. macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2010
    Location:
    Someplace in the Nor' East
    #4
    There is an ethernet port on all new iMac products. It is one of those essential ports that are not going away any time soon on the Desktop products (as far as to my knowledge) :)
     
  5. macrumors member

    tawfiqmp

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2009
    Location:
    Houston, TX
    #5
    Ethernet is always faster than any wifi technology including the new AC wifi. You can connect it via ethernet port from your modem or router to your iMac.
     
  6. macrumors P6

    Weaselboy

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2005
    #6
    OP>> Just to add on one thing.... you will need to reboot the cable modem by unplugging it after you connect the ethernet cable to your iMac or the cable modem will not recognize the iMac.
     
  7. thread starter macrumors 6502

    MiniD3

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2013
    Location:
    Australia
    #7
    Thank you,
    Did not realize that,
    ....Gary
     

Share This Page