Can you hook up a mac to mac?

Discussion in 'Macintosh Computers' started by Col127, Sep 30, 2003.

  1. macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2003
    #1
    I was wondering if it was possible to hook a mac directly up to another mac. If you can, what kind of plug do you use? A RJ45 cable (ethernet) or what?

    I always thought you can use a firewire cable to hook them up, but the ends are different so I guess not :p
     
  2. macrumors 68030

    teabgs

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2002
    Location:
    behind you
    #2
    you need a 6 pin to 6 pin firewire to do that, not a 6 to 4. Ethernet will work as well.
     
  3. macrumors 6502a

    bbarnhart

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2002
    Location:
    Stilwell, Kansas
    #3
    You can hook up two Macs with a firewire cable. How to link. . You may need a different firewire cable.

    It is easier to use a crossover cable (or if they are modern Macs, a regular ethernet cable as the ethernet ports can auto-detect) and setup file sharing and share files that way.
     
  4. macrumors 65816

    tomf87

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2003
    #4
    If you are hooking up two macs that support Gigabit Ethernet, just use an RJ45 cable. If not, go Firewire. Those are your fastest routes.
     
  5. macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2003
    #5
    If you use FireWire Target Disk mode, just don't forget to unmount the Mac before you pull the plug -- you risk corrupting your disk if you do.

    Otherwise, it's practically foolproof.
     

Share This Page