Can you hook up a mac to mac?

Discussion in 'Macintosh Computers' started by Col127, Sep 30, 2003.

  1. Col127
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2003
    #1
    I was wondering if it was possible to hook a mac directly up to another mac. If you can, what kind of plug do you use? A RJ45 cable (ethernet) or what?

    I always thought you can use a firewire cable to hook them up, but the ends are different so I guess not :p
     
  2. teabgs
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors 68030

    teabgs

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2002
    Location:
    behind you
    #2
    you need a 6 pin to 6 pin firewire to do that, not a 6 to 4. Ethernet will work as well.
     
  3. bbarnhart
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors 6502a

    bbarnhart

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2002
    Location:
    Stilwell, Kansas
    #3
    You can hook up two Macs with a firewire cable. How to link. . You may need a different firewire cable.

    It is easier to use a crossover cable (or if they are modern Macs, a regular ethernet cable as the ethernet ports can auto-detect) and setup file sharing and share files that way.
     
  4. tomf87
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors 65816

    tomf87

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2003
    #4
    If you are hooking up two macs that support Gigabit Ethernet, just use an RJ45 cable. If not, go Firewire. Those are your fastest routes.
     
  5. PaisanoMan
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2003
    #5
    If you use FireWire Target Disk mode, just don't forget to unmount the Mac before you pull the plug -- you risk corrupting your disk if you do.

    Otherwise, it's practically foolproof.
     

Share This Page