Can you increase VRAM?

Discussion in 'Macintosh Computers' started by john_satc, May 15, 2005.

  1. macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2005
    Location:
    B'ham Uk
    #1
    Can I upgrade my VRAM on my iBook, and if so where can I buy it in UK? I can't seem to find anywhere on net myself :( thanks
     
  2. macrumors G5

    CanadaRAM

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2004
    Location:
    On the Left Coast - Victoria BC Canada
    #2
    Nope. VRAM and the video chip are integrated on the motherboard.
     
  3. macrumors G4

    wrldwzrd89

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2003
    Location:
    Solon, OH
    #3
    These days, VRAM is non-upgradable without getting a new graphics card (in your case, your only option is to buy a new computer, since the graphics card in all iBooks can't be replaced either). This is true of all Macs, and the overwhelming majority of Windows/Linux/etc. PCs.
     
  4. thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2005
    Location:
    B'ham Uk
    #4

    This is really annoying then. cheers for your help though.
     
  5. macrumors 65816

    zach

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2003
    Location:
    Brighton
    #5
    I believe alienware and voodoo offer the only upgradable video solutions on laptops.. correct me if I'm wrong though.
     
  6. macrumors member

    oriol

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2005
    Location:
    right behind ya!
    #6
    the answer is NO u can't upgrade the VRAM. how they said get a new mac best thing to do.



    my two cents
     
  7. macrumors G5

    CanadaRAM

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2004
    Location:
    On the Left Coast - Victoria BC Canada
    #7
    Eurocom and a few other companies have mini-PCI-X slot laptops as well
     
  8. macrumors 68030

    ReanimationLP

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2005
    Location:
    On the moon.
    #8
    Well, technially, you COULD solder it off and solder on bigger modules. But thats way too much effort. x.x
     
  9. macrumors 65816

    Josh396

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2004
    Location:
    Peoria/Chicago, IL
    #9
    I was actually wondering about this today. Is this actually possible? If so, how hard would it be to do it?
     
  10. macrumors 68030

    Platform

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2004
    #10
    Yes, I think that is with the new PCIe slots or MXM ;)
     
  11. macrumors 68020

    revenuee

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2003
    Location:
    A place where i am supreme emporer
    #11

    well how good are with a solder? and how willing are you to have this become a paper weight when you screw up?

    this is not like repairing a few wires in an electric device ... this was all machine manufactured -- the chances of making a mess of this is WAY greater then the potential benifits
     

Share This Page