Can you install ActiveSync on a Mac?

Discussion in 'Mac Basics and Help' started by Connecticut, Jun 21, 2007.

  1. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2007
    #1
    I recently just got rid of my PC and want to know if there is a way to download ActiveSync on my iMac so that I can sync my Samsung BlackJack phone...thanks for your help guys!!
     
  2. macrumors 6502a

    Cameront9

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2006
    #2
    Is this a Windows Mobile phone? You should check versiontracker and/or google for a program called "MissingSync" that will allow you to sync with Windows mobile devices.
     
  3. Guest

    MikeTheC

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2004
    Location:
    Gallifrey -- Capitol City, Prydonian Sector
    #3
    *busts out his crystal ball*

    *waves hand*

    Hmm... go here.
     
  4. Moderator emeritus

    mkrishnan

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2004
    Location:
    Grand Rapids, MI, USA
    #4
    I have a currently not-being-used copy of this program... it's not too bad. I'm not sure it supports WM6 at this point. Does your Blackjack have 5 or 6 on it?

    P.S. if licenses are transferrable, I'd certainly be glad to sell you mine at a discount. :D
     
  5. thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2007
    #5

    *reaches for MikeTheC's Crystal ball*
    *smashes it on the ground*

    do not want to pay for something i have already paid for.
     
  6. macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2005
    Location:
    Diddily Daddily...
    #6
    you can download activesync on your imac. its the installing that will be an issue.
     
  7. macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2006
    Location:
    Flying with American Airlines
    #7

    BlackJack's have WM5. Probably the worst phone I've ever had, seeing as Cingular had to replace it twice in 2 months.

    I thought ActiveSync was free :confused:
     
  8. Moderator emeritus

    robbieduncan

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2002
    Location:
    London
    #8
    It's a Microsoft proprietary product. They have not ported it to the mac: they want you to have to use Windows if you use one of their terrible phones.
     
  9. Moderator emeritus

    mkrishnan

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2004
    Location:
    Grand Rapids, MI, USA
    #9
    Sorry, I was talking about MissingSync.
     
  10. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2008
    #10
    The Missing Sync asks for ActiveSync :(

    Yep, The Missing Sync purports to do the necessary - but insists that your Mac is ActiveSync enabled. I think that's called a 'Catch 22'.

    *gnashes teeth and gets out Ubuntu install disk*
     
  11. macrumors 68040

    IgnatiusTheKing

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2007
    Location:
    das Fort
    #11
    Hahahahahaha. What about this?
     
  12. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2008
    #12
    Finally got it figured

    OK, I finally got my O2 Orbit PDA to synchronise to my MacBook Pro over a Bluetooth connection using The Missing Sync. It's a helluva round-and-round process - the main problem being that TMS's help file is missing chunks of essential information.
     

Share This Page