Can You Move the Partition on Boot Camp After Its installed?

Discussion in 'Windows, Linux & Others on the Mac' started by mileslong, May 24, 2006.

  1. mileslong macrumors 6502

    mileslong

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2005
    Location:
    Newport Beach, CA
    #1
    i installed boot camp, then windows xp pro. everything is working fine except it only gave me 5GBs on that partition which isnt big enough to put any programs on it at all.

    do i have to delete everything and start over or is there a way to change the partition size once its up and running?

    also, when does it give you the option to change partition size?

    thanks everyone
     
  2. jonmf76 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 24, 2006
    #2
    Yes, but it requires a full re-install

    I did the same thing with my new MBP. Although I had MacMall do the install of XP Pro onto a 5 GB partitioned HD. What I read was that it can be done (5GB as it turns out is way too small, wish they had mentioned that!) but you have to fully wipe and re-install XP. There was a warning about how difficult it would be to change the partition once you chose the size, but that it was doable. At current, I have skeleton software on the 5gb side as I mostly use the 75gb Mac OS X side and I have my old 40GB HD from a dead Toshiba. I have been moving everything onto that for backup and space. I compressed the stuff on the 5gb HD and moved the system backup onto the 40gig drive. Either way, I may have to increase to 10 if I can figure it out. Seems like a pain that I am trying to avoid, but shouldn't before I put too much work on this new laptop.
     
  3. mileslong thread starter macrumors 6502

    mileslong

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2005
    Location:
    Newport Beach, CA
    #3
    jon, thanks for the reply, whatis the best way to delete this new partition? so i will have to delete all of windows xp and the new partition, i just dont how to do that...:confused:
     
  4. Mojo67821 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2006
    #4

    Open up bootcamp again, there is an option to have it restore your hard drive to it's previous state. Then run it again and start over.

    This happened to me because my first windows install failed. So I restored my drive and then repartitioned.
     
  5. mileslong thread starter macrumors 6502

    mileslong

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2005
    Location:
    Newport Beach, CA
    #5
    thanks mojo i will try that tonight and post the results good or bad :confused: :(
     
  6. ManchesterTrix macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2005
    #6
  7. jonmf76 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 24, 2006
    #7
    hey mojo,

    I saw the option to restore to a single disk on >BootCamp Assistant in >applications> utilities. But where do you then re-assign the Windows partition size? I had mine pre-installed so I haven't actually gone through the install. Do you just use Boot Camp from the Mac side to reinstall XP and then decide how big a partition you want?
     
  8. iamse7en macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2007
    #8

Share This Page