Can you put a 9800 series in G4 1.42ghz?

Discussion in 'Games' started by ArmouredGuitar, Jul 31, 2004.

  1. ArmouredGuitar macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2004
    Location:
    Canada
    #1
    Hey all,


    I am looking into a g4 dual 1.42GHZ and am wondering if it is possiable to put a radeon 9800pro, 9800xt or a 9600XT into this computer?

    ~~~~~Thanks~~~~~
     
  2. invaLPsion macrumors 65816

    invaLPsion

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2004
    Location:
    The Northlands
    #2
    You will be able to put only a 9800 PRO into your computer.
     
  3. neoelectronaut macrumors 68020

    neoelectronaut

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2003
    Location:
    Southeastern Louisiana
    #3
    I seem to remember reading somewhere that like the system bus of the G4 would only really access up to a 9000 or something, and that a 9800 would just be wasted power?

    Maybe I'm just dillusional.
     
  4. broken_keyboard macrumors 65816

    broken_keyboard

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2004
    Location:
    Secret Moon base
    #4
    You can put the 9800 in that ATI sells, but you can't use the one that Apple sells with the G5 which is different. So if some G5 owner tries to sell you his 9800 cheap, don't buy it...
     
  5. Nermal Moderator

    Nermal

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2002
    Location:
    New Zealand
    #5
    I had heard that too. I think you can get a performance gain from a GeForce4 Ti, but going any higher than that isn't worth the extra money.
     
  6. applekid macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2003
    #6
    You can definitely put a Retail Radeon 9800 Pro card in the G4.

    I'd still recommend you keep your GeForce4Ti unless you see some games that are very graphically demanding.
     
  7. crazzyeddie macrumors 68030

    crazzyeddie

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2002
    Location:
    Florida, USA
    #7
    As I said in the other thread, don't waste your money buying a G4 at this point. Buy the Dual 1.8ghz G5 with the money you would spend on a 9800, then upgrade the graphics card later.
     
  8. Chaszmyr macrumors 601

    Chaszmyr

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2002
    #8
    I'd totally agree. A Dual G5 is vastly more powerful than a dual G4
     
  9. AssassinOfGates macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2002
    Location:
    A cardboard box.
    #9
    Running a dual 1GHz here and the GF4Ti 4600, i can safely say that I saw few performance boosts on normal games. Yet my former roommate that had a 4200 and a AMD system got a LOT better framerates than I did (UT2004). True, a 1.42 would be better than my setup, but that evil 167MHz bottleneck is still there. Just get a G5.
     

Share This Page