Can you 'safemode' on XP, on a Mac?

Discussion in 'Windows, Linux & Others on the Mac' started by XP Defector, Oct 9, 2006.

  1. Eidorian macrumors Penryn

    Eidorian

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Location:
    Indianapolis
    #2
    Hit "F8" on boot in Windows XP.

    Seriously, why not? :confused:
     
  2. XP Defector thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2006
    #3
    Ah so it definitely works then? Cool, just checking =)
     
  3. Eidorian macrumors Penryn

    Eidorian

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Location:
    Indianapolis
    #4
    No seriously, what would keep you from choosing that software option? The Apple keyboards have an F8 key too.
     
  4. The General macrumors 601

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2006
    #5
    WINDOWS ON A MAC IS JUST LIKE WINDOWS ON A PC


    Jus that you don't have to be using a cheap bulky piece of crap. :p
     
  5. XP Defector thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2006
    #6
    Ah yes, so that's what the ****ing F8 Key is on my MacBook? I've wondered what it was for some time now. Seriously, I've never seen Bootcamp in action so I wasn't sure how it all worked. Seeing as it works as though a copy of XP does on a regular PC, I get the picture now. Thanks.
     
  6. Eidorian macrumors Penryn

    Eidorian

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Location:
    Indianapolis
    #7
    Hitting F8 during a Windows boot lets you select boot options. Safe Mode being one of many.
     
  7. XP Defector thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2006
  8. MRU macrumors demi-god

    MRU

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2005
    Location:
    Ireland
    #9
    There is another way of forcing safe mode if the F8 doesnt work. On some PC F8 is asssigned to some bios function overruling the XP.

    Simply boot XP wait till you see the XP loading screen and force reboot. That will always bring up the safemode option then.
     
  9. Robbouk macrumors newbie

    Robbouk

    Joined:
    May 7, 2005
    Location:
    Nottingham, UK
    #10
    I think it was a fair question. On some PC's they don't allow a USB keyboard to be used until Windows has loaded, hence no BIOS and no F8.
     
  10. MRU macrumors demi-god

    MRU

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2005
    Location:
    Ireland
    #11
    Exactly, that's why I posted the forced way of doing it.

    I've had to do this before on many pc's that I've repaired because for whatever reason the keyboard isnt working in bios. :)
     

Share This Page