can you switch tabs with a hotkey in safari?

Discussion in 'Mac Basics and Help' started by mackaveli, Aug 9, 2005.

  1. mackaveli macrumors regular

    Joined:
    May 1, 2005
    #1
    hi, i have a lot of tabs open with safari all the time and its annoying to use the mouse to click on each tab. Is there a shortcut key like apple -> or something that can switch the tabs without using the mouse?

    thanks
     
  2. .Andy macrumors 68030

    .Andy

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2004
    Location:
    The Mergui Archipelago
    #2
    Apple+shift+left and right arrows do it but it can be a little cumbersome.
     
  3. mackaveli thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    May 1, 2005
    #3
    thanks i was trying to do something like that before but it didnt work. it's not too bad to do it.
     
  4. Mechcozmo macrumors 603

    Mechcozmo

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2004
    #4
    In Safari 2.0 (Tiger's version) it is Command+Shift+Left/Right Bracket

    Command is the Apple key's official name. ;)
     
  5. BelgianHokie macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2005
    #5
    so that is like alt + tab in windows?

    how about between open programs? which.....is alt +tab in windows also...

    dhc
     
  6. mad jew Moderator emeritus

    mad jew

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2004
    Location:
    Adelaide, Australia
    #6
    The ALT-TAB equivalent on Macs is APPLE-TAB or COMMAND-TAB. :)
     
  7. livingfortoday macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2004
    Location:
    The Msp
    #7
    You can use Apple-Tab for programs, or Apple-tilde for windows in the same program.

    Edit:Dangit, beaten to it by 4 minutes! Stupid slow connection!
     
  8. Mechcozmo macrumors 603

    Mechcozmo

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2004
    #8

    Command+` switches through the current program's active windows.
     
  9. iEdd macrumors 68000

    iEdd

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2005
    Location:
    Australia
    #9
    My summary of ways around the keyboard:

    Safari tabs: ?+SHIFT+ -> or <-
    Shift Apps: ?+TAB
    Exposé all apps: F9
    Exposé current app: F10
    Exposé to show desktop: F11
    Dashboard: F12
    Cycle Windows in current app: ?+`

    Do that cool "?" logo: OPTION+SHIFT+K

    EDIT: sorry those apple logos don't show.. but that is what they are, the command key :)
     
  10. ThatSoundAgain macrumors member

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2005
    #10
    I've been using the cmd+shift+left/right method a lot. Before Safari 2.0, it always worked, but after that I guess Apple decided it wasn't consistent with text fields, where the same key combo selects to the start/end of the line you're editing.

    It's a bit annoying that you now have to click to change tabs if the cursor is in a text field, eg Google.
     
  11. Sharewaredemon macrumors 68000

    Sharewaredemon

    Joined:
    May 31, 2004
    Location:
    Cape Breton Island
    #11
    The new "official" key combo is

    +shift+{
    or
    +shift+}
     
  12. .:*Robot Boy*:. macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2005
    Location:
    New Zealand
    #12
    So what is the symbol on the Command key called? Is it some kind of mathematical/scientific function, or is it just something that Apple dreamed up?
     
  13. greatdevourer macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2005
    #13
    It's the sweedish symbol for "place of interest", and if you don't beleive me, look it up in Character Pallette
     
  14. Mechcozmo macrumors 603

    Mechcozmo

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2004
    #14
    Linkety for you. :)

    Don't you like Storytime? :)
     
  15. Crager724 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2005
    Location:
    God's Country
    #15
    I hate to sound like an idiot, but what are these "open tabs" you are scrolling through?
     
  16. stridey macrumors 65816

    stridey

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2005
    Location:
    Massachusetts, Connecticut
    #16
    Check out number 6 here for the scoop on tabbed browsing. But if you don't know already, what browser are you using?
     
  17. Crager724 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2005
    Location:
    God's Country
    #17
    I am using Safari. I've downloaded Firefox because I came across a web site I couldn't post at because I was using Safari.
     
  18. Crager724 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2005
    Location:
    God's Country
    #18
    Ok, I have figured out "tabbed browsing" and I've got to say, "very cool, I like it". I had been using Expose to jump between open windows but I'm thinking this "tabbed" feature might work just as good.

    TY
     
  19. .:*Robot Boy*:. macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2005
    Location:
    New Zealand
    #19
    Brilliant! Thanks Mechcozmo :)
     
  20. Mechcozmo macrumors 603

    Mechcozmo

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2004
    #20

    Great site to read, gives some insight to older Macs. Especially if you've used them. :)
     

Share This Page