Can you upgrade the ram on new Sandy Bridge 13" MBA?

Discussion in 'MacBook Air' started by gus6464, Oct 6, 2011.

  1. gus6464
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors regular

    Joined:
    May 27, 2007
    #1
    title says it all. Can't seem to find an upgrade option at the apple store site.
     
  2. warfed
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2011
  3. gus6464
    Expand Collapse
    thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    May 27, 2007
  4. old-wiz
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors G3

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2008
    Location:
    West Suburban Boston Ma
    #4
    The new MBAs have the memory soldered to the logic board, the only possible upgrades are from 2gb to 4gb at the factory, not aftermarket.
     
  5. warfed
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2011
    #5
    The 13" doesn't have a 2GB option.
     
  6. DieterRams
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2010
    #6
    I am so there when the 8GB option inevitably comes out. Hope it's the next revision.
     
  7. CardboardGiant
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2011
    #7
    Try 16.

    Six. Teen.

    16 GB of WILD HORSE FIRE POWER!

    :apple:
     
  8. odin2free
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2011
    Location:
    Throughout time and space
    #8
    Or when they release something better than 1333MHz memory and go with higher frequency for Intel Systems...and have 8GB models to :D

    I like mine though C2D 4 GB 256SSD

    Works runs everything swells..other then video production which is not a problem because ill just simply use ilife for that if need be
    but aperture and lightroom after effects run swell on this machine :D
     
  9. gus6464
    Expand Collapse
    thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    May 27, 2007
    #9
    The only thing holding me back from the MBA is the ram situation and now I am considering the 13" MBP, but if I decide for that I will hold out for the upcoming refresh. I just hope Apple decides to upgrade the MBP to the same resolution as the MBA. I hate that both machines in their current states have such a big compromise.
     

Share This Page