Can you upgrade the video card and the processor chip in an iMac?

Discussion in 'iMac' started by 66217, Jan 4, 2007.

  1. 66217 Guest

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2006
    #1
    I've had this doubt for a long time. Not planning in buying one right now, but maybe in a recent future I would like to.

    If not in the iMac, can it be done in the mac pro?

    Thanks,

    Roco.
     
  2. barr08 macrumors 65816

    barr08

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2006
    Location:
    Boston, MA
    #2
    Ignore me, I'm an idiot.

    However, my suggestion is that if you want a mac with the upgrading power of a pc, and if you have the money, get the mac pro. You will not be sorry.
     
  3. spork183 macrumors 6502a

    spork183

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2006
    #3
  4. barr08 macrumors 65816

    barr08

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2006
    Location:
    Boston, MA
    #4
    You can't upgrade the iMac processor without voiding the warranty, so I consider it a no.
     
  5. iProd macrumors regular

    iProd

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2006
    Location:
    Santa Barbara
    #5
    With the 24" iMacs, it is possible to upgrade the graphics card, since it uses the MXM interface (and the processor can be swapped too, just throwing that in there if you were thinking about it). However, if it were to work, it would only work in Boot Camp, since OS X couldn't support it. On that note, a while ago I saw the specs for the 7950GT mobile that used the MXM interface, and on the page it said it supported OS X, but I don't know if that's a fact or not.;) I damn well hope it is though, because that would be one sexy card in there, amirite?
     
  6. spork183 macrumors 6502a

    spork183

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2006
    #6
    yeah, but so does taking the computer out of the box...

    Most upgraders won't upgrade until a few years pass anyway. Not cost effective to swap for the hottest processor when you pay through the nose.
     
  7. barr08 macrumors 65816

    barr08

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2006
    Location:
    Boston, MA
    #7
    Point taken. Maybe I'll look into this in a few years.
     
  8. spork183 macrumors 6502a

    spork183

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2006
    #8
    Can't be that bad Barr, you agreed with me...:D
     
  9. barr08 macrumors 65816

    barr08

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2006
    Location:
    Boston, MA
    #9
    Not dumb enough to disagree with facts ;)
     
  10. 66217 thread starter Guest

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2006
    #10
    Thanks for the replies.

    So technically, if I buy a Mac Pro I can upgrade it as if it were a PC? (Of course only with OS X compatible things).

    I like the iMac more for the form factor (and of course for the price), but I don't want to buy a desktop that serves almost the same as a laptop. I mean, I don't want to be changing it every 2-3 years because it has gotten old and I can't change the processor or video card.

    As for the warranty, I don't expect to change anything in the first year. So no problem here.
    What would happen if an Apple reseller changes the processor? Would the warranty be voided?
    Is this the same case with the MB hard drive? I am planning to change the HD.

    Roco,
     
  11. Silentwave macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    May 26, 2006
    Location:
    Gainesville, FL
    #11
    Most processor sockets change every few years. The Socket in the iMac is changing shortly to Socket P, the Mac Pro's LGA771 socket has some longevity left but the Common Systems Interface will be moving into that market by 2008-09.

    But the Mac Pro will be more easily upgraded over a longer period of time and the upgrade will have a more significant improvement, too.
     
  12. menthol moose macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2006
    #12
    I've been doing some research into the upgradeable GPU in the iMac, and sorry to say, it doesn't seem to be true. While Apple did technically use an MXM, they rearranged the pins a bit so that other graphics cards won't work. My guess is that Apple did this on purpose.

    BTW, the the socket in the iMac would probably change to Socket P, sometime in the Spring. Not Socket B. If that was a typo, excuse me.
     
  13. Destecroix macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2007
    #13
    Core duo upgrade to core2duo upgrade

    I have done alot of back ground reading on this upgrade

    I want upgrade my 20ins 2Ghz T2500
    to the Core 2 duo T7400 (2.16Ghz)

    from what i understand the chipsets are there same on both New and old intel imacs
    And they have the same processor socket
    There should not be a problem with heat as the T2500 has a TDP 31W
    and the T7400 is TDP 34watt

    i sure that the imac will cope with the 3 watt difference

    Im just asking for anything that could go wrong?
    as i have not heard or scence the imac upgraded from Coreduo to core2duo

    But on paper it looks good to me.

    Please no dum dum answers like get a mac pro or you will kill your
    warrenty.

    really just want thumbs up or down on this one

    Thankyou

    Destecroix
     
  14. Tarkovsky macrumors 6502

    Tarkovsky

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2007
    Location:
    London/Norwich
    #14
    What about for those of us handy with a soldering Iron. Any jumpers I can switch if I'm feeling a little risky?
     
  15. 66217 thread starter Guest

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2006
    #15
    a LITTLE RISKY? :eek:

    I really think that they should make it more easy to upgrade. More people would be willing to buy Macs if this was possible. I know that it would never reach the point where you can change everything (like PC's), but even a little would be valuable.

    I still have this doubt: would changing my MB hard drive void my warranty?:confused:
     

Share This Page