Can you use a G4 powerbook to develop iPhone Apps

Discussion in 'iOS Programming' started by snook911, Aug 12, 2010.

  1. snook911 macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2007
    Location:
    Yorba Linda, CA
    #1
    I was thinking about buying a G4 Powerbook from PowerMax but I may want to try my hand and iPhone Developing sometime in the future. Is this possible on a powerbook.

    Thanks
     
  2. AppleCode macrumors regular

    AppleCode

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2010
    #2
    The iPhone SdK requires Snow leopard. I wouldn't do it. Save up for an intel machine. The way Apple is the iPhone Sdk will alway require the latest software. Also the g4 is becoming more and more obsolete. If you would want to future proof I would also recommend a Intel machine.
     
  3. Intell macrumors P6

    Intell

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2010
    Location:
    Inside
    #3
    Not for 4.0 and higher. To develop for that platform you need Snow Leopard. Powerbooks cannot run Snow Leopard.
     
  4. iMacDragon macrumors 65816

    iMacDragon

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2008
    Location:
    UK
    #4
    Not officially, though I believe it is technically possible with extra fiddling, but can not use simulator to help. And may well become impossible at some stage to use latest SDK ( not sure if xcode 4 will work on ppc or not? )

    edit: with the correction of post above me, seems that stage has already arrived without me noticing.
     
  5. snook911 thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2007
    Location:
    Yorba Linda, CA
    #5
    So does that mean you could devolp apps but you would just not be able to optimize them for ios4. Phones running ios4 could use your apps though right?
     
  6. Intell macrumors P6

    Intell

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2010
    Location:
    Inside
    #6
    I don't think Apple is accepting iOS 3.1.3 apps anymore. So it still wouldn't work. But if they are then yes. You'll just not be able to use any 4.0 exclusive features, like iAds.
     
  7. Apple... macrumors 68020

    Apple...

    Joined:
    May 6, 2010
    Location:
    The United States
    #7
    Snow Leopard is a necessity, and if you machine can't handle it (and I don't think it can), then your out of luck. Sorry. Time for an upgrade, eh? :D
     
  8. snook911 thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2007
    Location:
    Yorba Linda, CA
    #8
    How about a Used 17" iMac Intel Core Duo/1.83 GHz. This would be able to develop ios4 apps right?
     
  9. Intell macrumors P6

    Intell

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2010
    Location:
    Inside
    #9
    Yes, only if you had Snow Leopard on it.
     
  10. Anne R. Kist macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2010
    Location:
    ...in the UK
    #10
    The iPhone SDK has always required an Intel Mac.
     
  11. FourCandles macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2009
    Location:
    England
    #11
    Just to clarify:

    iPhone Software Developers Kit > requires Max OS X 10.6 "Snow Leopard" > requires a Mac with an Intel processor.

    So no, it won't run on the Powerbook.
     
  12. snook911 thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2007
    Location:
    Yorba Linda, CA
    #12

    So any mac with a intel chip would be ok. It does not matter what model or how old.
     
  13. FourCandles macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2009
    Location:
    England
    #13
  14. stevemack macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2010
    #14
    I'm moving from developing web based to native iPhone apps but can't use my non Intel based PowerMac G5 because it won't upgrade to Snow Leopard.

    Would a Mac Mini with Snow Leopard be an OK system to use for XCode, Cocoa, etc., I could save myself a few bucks using my current display, keyboard, and mouse.

    TIA for your response.
     
  15. Intell macrumors P6

    Intell

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2010
    Location:
    Inside
    #15
    Yes, a Mac Mini would work very nicely with Xcode.
     

Share This Page