Can you use imac 27inch as a tv

Discussion in 'iMac' started by zombierunner, Apr 25, 2011.

  1. macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2011
    #1
    what i mean here is can you connect your sky hd box or whatever cable tv provider box you have to your imac using hdmi like you would to your tv (via a convertor ofcourse for imac) ?

    i know you can connect xbox 360, ps3 etc to imac using kanex .. but would it work with a sky hd box ... would it show anything on the screen or will it now accept the feed from the skyhd box
     
  2. macrumors Westmere

    GGJstudios

    Joined:
    May 16, 2008
  3. thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2011
    #3
    no thats not what i mean .. im not talking about free to view channels .. im saying instead of having a regular HDTV hooked up to my digital tv box ... can i use the imac screen for that .. you get me? eliminate the need for 2 screens.
     
  4. GGJstudios, Apr 25, 2011
    Last edited: Apr 25, 2011

    macrumors Westmere

    GGJstudios

    Joined:
    May 16, 2008
    #4
    Yes, I know exactly what you mean. Read the site again. It does just that.
     
  5. macrumors member

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2011
    #5
    Read his post again. He already has a cable box, he only wants the iMac to function as a monitor not a tuner.

    So yes, all you need is an HDMI-mDP adapter the same as the xBox/PS3/etc.
     
  6. macrumors 68020

    TMRaven

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2009
    #6
    Yes, tv tuner will give you tv capabilities.
     
  7. macrumors 68020

    toolbox

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2007
    Location:
    Australia (WA)
    #7
    eye tv for me. Hooked up to my Free to air network to watch tv on. CBF getting cable
     
  8. macrumors member

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2011
    #8
    Can you not read either? He already has TV capabilities, he only needs an HDMI to MiniDisplayport converter.
     

Share This Page