Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

hampton

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Nov 2, 2006
Victoria, BC
So I bit the bullet and ordered my first-ever Mac. I'm a student, so I ordered it on the 25th of Oct through my school's on-campus Apple reseller. Nothing fancy, just a 2.16/1gb/120gb/matte C2D MBP. They said 1 week.

Fast forward to today, I go in, no MBP, and boy am I getting the runaround now. They say they have no idea, can't get me an ETA, and even if they could it would be meaningless and could be a month since "that's just how Apple is and Canada isn't their priority". Nice reseller, eh?

Do you fellow Canadians have your paws on one of these babies yet? Is my reseller just inept, lazy, or possibly both? I get discouraged reading the other threads about people who ordered after me and have them already.

Thanks!

donster28

macrumors 68000
Oct 5, 2006
Great White North
Do you fellow Canadians have your paws on one of these babies yet? Is my reseller just inept, lazy, or possibly both? I get discouraged reading the other threads about people who ordered after me and have them already.

That sucks man. I bought my glossy C2D MBP from one of the Apple Stores here in Toronto 4 days after they were released (bought it @ Yorkdale). They had the matte ones first. Then they started getting the glossy ones at the Eaton Centre branch. I guess their priorities are the Apple Stores first, then the small retailers. It sucks but that's the way it goes I guess. Good luck.:eek:

vcc

macrumors newbie
Jun 28, 2004
Canada
It's better to wait and make sure it's okay than to get it early with problems on it. A friend of mine bought her powerbook 4 years ago and at that time she had to wait 6 months for it ... it's not that bad now...

patience, patience :)

TYC

macrumors member
Oct 29, 2006