Cancelling BT B/Band - Suggest a new ISP!

Discussion in 'Buying Tips and Advice' started by Kardashian, Aug 18, 2006.

  1. Kardashian macrumors 68020

    Kardashian

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2005
    Location:
    Britain.
    #1
    I'm on the phone with BT - I'm tamping!

    I get 576KB speeds when I pay for 8MB - other people a few houses down get 6.5MBs - despite promises since before Christmas, this still hasn't been fixed!

    My connection drops every 4 minutes, and only does it on particular days - they are useless!

    The stupid ****ing Indian technical support are not worth a wank! Totally utterly useless!

    Sorry, you can't understand how annoyed I am! I've been on hold for 40mins!

    What the **** is wrong with people? They take your money but can't provide a decent service! CHRIST OH MIGHTY!

    Name me another ISP, Mac compatible, without 12 month contract, that works on a BT line (code: 01970) - PLEASE! And under £20 a month, if possible.

    I want faster speeds, but BT won't upgrade/fix my line - eventhough we pay them line rental every friggin month!

    God I NEED A DRINK!
     
  2. BlizzardBomb macrumors 68030

    BlizzardBomb

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2005
    Location:
    England
    #2
    NTL or Telewest if you can get it. Their 4MB is excellent as you can get 500KB/sec providing the server is good enough. If you have Sky TV, you might want to consider Sky Broadband.
     
  3. Kardashian thread starter macrumors 68020

    Kardashian

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2005
    Location:
    Britain.
    #3
    1. "ntl do not offer services outside its cable network.
    However, we recommend Virgin.net who offer a range of Internet
    options including broadband with no 12 month contract.
    All you need is a BT line."

    2. "The postcode you have entered is outside the Telewest cabled area. Unfortunately, this means it is not possible to offer you any of our services at present.

    However, you can now take advantage of great value Broadband & Internet services from Virgin. Find out more by visiting their website or clicking the links below."

    :(
     
  4. liketom macrumors 601

    liketom

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2004
    Location:
    Lincoln,UK
    #4
    welcome to my world !


    same deal only 1mb BB
     
  5. Applespider macrumors G4

    Applespider

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2004
    Location:
    looking through rose-tinted spectacles...
    #5
    If your line has only been tagged as being capable of 576 in the great Openreach database, that's all you get from any of the non-LLU ISPs.

    Your best bet is to see whether you can get the router stats for your line attenuation and noise and, if they suggest you should be able to get the higher speeds, start asking to see if you can be reclassified. There's usually some advice over at adslguide as to how to do this (and a moderator who can usually actually make it happen :confused: )

    Check on Samknows.com whether your exchange as been unbundled. You might get better speeds from one of them - and usually, a better price.

    BT have improved their offering lately though including Openzone minutes etc so if you can get the service improved, it might not be such a bad idea staying with them.
     
  6. Bakey macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2003
    Location:
    O Donny Boy
    #6
    Hmmm... so, they're both suggesting a switch to Virgin! Sounds like a conspiracy to me!! :cool: Of course ntl:telewest now own Virgin Mobile!! :rolleyes: ;)

    I've just ditched Tiscali / BT and gone back to Telewest, one word "flawless" and believe me I can feel your frustration; within a couple of hours of the Tiscali switch coming into play I was on the phone to them with problems! Good riddance I say and good luck in your search for a new ISP.

    You could always try Virgin... oops you already know that... :p ;)
     
  7. bigandy macrumors G3

    bigandy

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2004
    Location:
    Murka
    #7
    You're going to find it very very hard to find a decent ISP who do no-contract-broadband, so let me recommend Demon Internet.

    £19.99 a month gets you up to 8mb down, 512k up. No limit. I transfer up to 200Gb a week and have no complaints.

    for an extra £5 a month you get a static IP, too ;)

    I've been using them for 2 years without a complaint. My dad's company uses them and has not had an issue in ten years with any service they offer. And I'm pretty sure he's used almost every one. :rolleyes:


    http://www.demon.net/demon/products/internetaccess/broadband/


    Nuff said.



    Although if there's no way you'll go for a contract, check out www.ispreview.co.uk (pretty good advice and listings - have a quick look at this for contractey things), or www.adslguide.org.uk, more of the same :rolleyes:
     
  8. gnasher729 macrumors P6

    gnasher729

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2005
    #8
    Most ISPs get their broadband connection from BT, so changing to Freeserve/Wanadoo/Orange (or whatever they are called today), for example, might not gain you anything. On the other hand, you might give them a call, tell them about the situation, and check with them.

    And with the " 8Mb per second", yes, it is quite possible that a few hundred meters make a lot of difference. Max speed is proportional to the inverse of the distance from the exchange, and "up to" means "guaranteed not faster than".

    Could be some slight damage of the phone cable somewhere on the way to your use, then only BT can fix it anyway.
     
  9. miniConvert macrumors 68040

    miniConvert

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2006
    Location:
    Kent, UK - the 'Garden of England'.
    #9
    Zen or Nildram are very good. You can find plenty of excellent ADSL suppliers via www.adslguide.org.uk
     
  10. Spanky Deluxe macrumors 601

    Spanky Deluxe

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2005
    Location:
    London, UK
    #10
    Eclipse are good, I was with them for years with no problems and then switched to UK Online - one of the worst decisions I made.
    Don't expect high speeds if you have a low quality line.

    Also, I'm pretty sure NTL and Telewest merged, so the Virgin conspiracy isn't as bad as it sounds.
     
  11. miniConvert macrumors 68040

    miniConvert

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2006
    Location:
    Kent, UK - the 'Garden of England'.
    #11
    I'm actually with Eclipse and didn't recommend them because they've been having some nasty problems of late. Since they were bought out they've been sliding downhill rapidly.

    The forums on ADSLGuide can give you a pretty good idea of the volume of issues, and what the likely issues will be, on each ISP.
     
  12. fatties macrumors regular

    Joined:
    May 21, 2006
    #12
    I had virgin broadband and although they were generally good when i had it, i MUST warn you that the 'no 12 month contract' is in my opinion false advertising because if you leave BEFORE the 12 months is up (which is what happened to me) they charge you a 50 quid penalty and then shoots 'its all in the small print, can't you read?' at you. so if you are looking for less than 12 months, unless you are going to take virgin with you to your new place, i won't recommand it.

    i am on tiscali right now, amd am only getting less than 1 mb/s even though samknows.com? says i can recieve up to 5mb and the line is max? enabled. so i am looking into going to home choice for the telly (bad experience with ntl) any one using that one right now?
     
  13. MacBoobsPro macrumors 603

    MacBoobsPro

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2006
    #13
    Im on Telewest now is absolutely brilliant (but its DSL - not what you want). However Im looking to move house soon and the places I am looking at (just down the road) cant get Telewest they just keep referring me to Virgin. It just doesnt sit well with me. Virgin have shown me nothing to convince me they are any good. I had a dial up connection way back when the internet was in black and white and I used Virgin then but I never had confidence it them. :(

    I dont like the idea of a phone line being used its just a pain in the ass. A dedicated cable is much better in my opinion but it is quite limiting as I have said.

    I have 4mb line and I just ran the Speakeasy - New York test and I got 3874kbps which is excellent compared to my workplace that are paying Bulldog for 8mb but only receive 4mb (when it works) :D
     
  14. XIII macrumors 68040

    XIII

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2004
    Location:
    England
    #14
    Hey.

    Can I just ask a couple of questions. I'm on a fairly **** real speed 150kbps down, 30kbps up ADSL BT connection. I looked on Samknows.com, and found some stuff.

    It says my exchange is ADSL Max enabled (whatever that means), and that Bulldog have done loop unbundling, Carphone warehouse are doing it on 31st of August, and Be are doing it on 31st December.

    Does this mean I will be able to receive faster services from Bulldog/CPW/Be (soon)?

    Thanks.
     
  15. BlizzardBomb macrumors 68030

    BlizzardBomb

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2005
    Location:
    England
    #15
    If its Max enabled you should in theory be able to get 8MB. Of course that all depends on whether you are close enough to your exchange and what kind of usage your exchange goes through (e.g. if it has lots of people who use P2P apps, download ridiculously large files constantly etc. then your speed will suffer more). ISPs try to get around that with vicious caps, so make sure you know how much you use before you jump.
     
  16. Willis macrumors 68020

    Willis

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2006
    Location:
    What feels like the middle of nowhere
    #16
    I understand your pain.

    I was stuck on 64kb/s home highway for 18months, then broadband came, but limited to 1mb, and like hell was i going to pay for 2mb (now 8mb)

    so i went with bulldog broadband. Its half price for the first 6 months, and you can choose either 1 or 2 mb. their 8meg service is only to certain areas.

    http://www.bulldogbroadband.com/

    EDIT: it is also Unlimited Usage.
    EDIT2: Also, just click the "check availability" tab and fill the details in. that will be the quickest way to find out what you can get.
     
  17. Applespider macrumors G4

    Applespider

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2004
    Location:
    looking through rose-tinted spectacles...
    #17
    Yes but a lot will be dependent on how far you are from the exchange - and how long the 'loop' from the exchange to you is - and that's before you get to the ISP's contention on the exchange etc

    See if you can get your router stats on line attenuation and signal to noise ratio. You want low attenuation and high signal to noise - that will give you an idea of line quality which should give you some idea how how max any of those operators will give you. I'm with Be* and get about 18MB:D
     
  18. LastBreath macrumors member

    LastBreath

    Joined:
    May 27, 2005
    Location:
    South Wales, UK
    #18
    Hi XIII,
    To answer your question in full, I'm sure there are other people out there aksing the very same question.
    First we need to learn what 'ADSL MAX' really is:

    This means that if you upgrade to ADSL MAX it is possible to receieve a increase of your upload/download speed but its not going to be a huge jump.

    The major factors that dictate your connection speed are line loss and line noise. For the most part you can not do anything about this, the only thing you can do (the OP should take note as i feel it could be his/her problem) is apply good practise to your physical connection to your phoneline; thus limiting any further line loss/line noise.

    These good practises are:
    Connect your modem to the MAIN BT SOCKET, any extenstions will add to the line noise/line loss. Make sure good quality filters that are not damaged are used on EVERY SINGLE socket in your house that have something plugged into them (ie skybox, house alarm, etc).

    In regards to the LLU from BE and TalkTalk, your phone line will still be subject to the same line loss/line noise. They are using the very same phone line as BT. There is a chance they could increase your speed but i doubt it.
     
  19. MickB macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2006
    #19
    Bad ISP

    Really interested to see that you recommend Virgin. I used them because I was under the impression that they didn't have a minimum period contract period. Infact they might as well have one because they charge £50 if you cancel - which strikes me as a cheek when they sell themselves so heavily on the no minimum contract thing.

    In the end though, I'm afraid I just got fed up with their customer services department. They seemed to have lots of bugs on their main web page...so while I should have been able to chat with them (trying that always always resulted in a message telling me that an operator wasn't available) and the email option didn't work. The latter now seems to have been fixed but I haven't been impressed by the quality of the replies. As I'm writing this, I'm also thinking 'gosh, I've had to get in touch with them a lot - and I shouldn't have needed to!).

    So...I had to deal with them by phone. I have rarely dealt with such a surly bunch of people in my life! I don't think I ever spoke to anyone who wasn't insolent...which is not a word I use often!

    I'm afraid that in the end it p***** me off so much that I switched to Pipex who were so much better.



     
  20. mattjgalloway macrumors member

    Joined:
    May 21, 2006
    #20
    Go with Zen. I seriously recommend them. They will give you the speed they say they'll give you and they have 1 month contracts. That and they are excellent - never drops the connection at all and I've been with them for over a year.

    Seriously, get Zen!
     
  21. thworple macrumors 6502

    thworple

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2005
    Location:
    Sussex, England
    #21
    I'm surprised by the problems that people have had with Virgin - perhaps I'm one of the lucky ones!

    I've been with them for 10 months now, and never had a problem with them whatsoever. Only time I've had to speak to the helpine was when I moved house, and they were very courteous and helpful! They even went as far as ringing me up on my moving in day and asking me if the connection was successful in the new house (it was!)

    The whole "charging £50 if you leave in the first 12 months thing" isn't false advertising, as its clearly stated on the website, and considering a lot of companies won't even offer something akin to this, its not actually that bad a cost to move ISP.

    So I would recommend Virgin based on my experience of them.

    The other ISP I would look at would be ZEN - the only reason I didn't sign up with them initially is they couldn't connect me at my previous address. They have fantastic Mac support, and my workmate who is with them says they're fantastic.
     

Share This Page