Cannot access all volumes from other mac

Discussion in 'Mac Basics and Help' started by Skilargo, Oct 18, 2006.

  1. Skilargo macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2006
    #1
    I just purchased a new iMac 24, and want to transfer much of the files from my existing G4 tower. Most of the files are on a separate 250GB drive that I installed in the tower, partitioned into four 64 GB volumes. I've tried Target Disk Mode over firewire, and file sharing over a directly connected ethernet cable, but both only made the 60GB system drive available to the iMac. Note that a driver was used to access the full 250GB on the tower, so I could understand TDM not working if the driver wasn't executed. I also tried the iMac in TDM mode, but it would not mount as a firewire drive on the tower. Is there a way to access the additional volumes? Thanx in advance.
     
  2. aquajet macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2005
    Location:
    VA
    #2
    Unfortunately, target disk mode via Firewire only works with drives connected to master on an IDE bus. Your second drive is likely connected to slave. You could swap around the connections, by putting your second drive on the master of the secondary bus.

    Not sure about file sharing. Did you log in remotely as an admin user?
     
  3. Skilargo thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2006
    #3
    If I put it as IDE master ( I assume that is through the drives dip switch configuration?),will it still search and boot off the slave? (no OS X on the other drive).

    With regard to File Sharing, I turned on file sharing on the old mac, and both the old and new are logged into an admin account (I did not explicitly remotely log into the old from the new), and the primary drive showed up fine. Could it be that the other secondary drive is not denoted as a public volume? If so, how do I label it so? (I did try to set read/write priviledges to all users, didn't seem to work). Also note that I connected the two computers directly (no hub) with a normal Ethernet cable (not a crossover cable). That allowed me to view and copy from the primary drive, so I assume that wouldn't have any bearing on a secondary drive's access.
     
  4. aquajet macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2005
    Location:
    VA
    #4
    Yes, you can still boot off of the slave drive. Normally there are jumper blocks for changing the setting.

    I'm not quite sure I understand you here. You did not try to login to the old mac from the new using the admin login for the old? Because that's what I thought you had done already...

    You might trying reading through this.
     
  5. Skilargo thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2006
    #5
    Thank you Aquajet!!

    I had accessed the other computer by enabling file sharing, and that allowed me to see and use the primary drive, just by browsing through my network paths. (this was a recommended approach on some websites).

    Your comment made me look into Remote Login, which I had never done before. Once I enabled remote login, browsing through the network paths popped up the login, rather than just letting me view the drive. Once I logged in, all drives were visible.

    Thanx again!! :)
     
  6. Skilargo thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2006
    #6
    Well that certainly explains exactly what my problem was (and how to solve it).
     

Share This Page