Cannot connect to router (connection timeout)

Discussion in 'MacBook Air' started by albinousrex, Jan 29, 2012.

  1. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2012
    #1
    Hello,

    I'm trying to connect to a router in my house and am getting a connection timeout every time I try to connect. I have the 13 inch MBA and am only having trouble connecting to this one router. We have 2 in our house now, one of which I can connect to fine, but the other keeps saying connection timeout, even when I am in the same room as that router. We have the two routers hooked up for range.

    Other computers/xbox's in our house are connecting to this particular router fine, including another mac (macbook pro). Was wondering if anyone had any ideas. I've tried adding the network manually or connecting straight through wifi, both have the same "connection timeout" results. I am running Lion 10.7.2.

    Thanks for any info.
     
  2. macrumors 68020

    pgiguere1

    Joined:
    May 28, 2009
    Location:
    Montreal, Canada
    #2
    I have the same issue when trying to connect to my girlfriend's wi-fi. I have never found a solution. I believe the router is a D-link. What brand is yours?
     
  3. thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2012
    #3
    I'm using a Linksys router. Both of the routers are Linksys and I can connect to the one and not the other, so I doubt in my case that its an issue with the router brand. Its especially strange that other computers can connect to it. Quite frustrating.
     
  4. macrumors 6502

    3dflyboy1

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2011
    Location:
    California, USA
    #4
    Have you tried restarting the router, rebooting, etc?

    Hopefully this will get fixed in the next OSX update.
     
  5. thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2012
    #5
    Yeah, I've rebooted both the computer and the router, have had the computer forget the network and try to reconnect and reset my pram...nothings worked. I was searching elsewhere and it seems to be a known issue. Just strange that some computers have it, some don't. I'd love a fix as soon as possible or at least acknowledgement that apple knows of it and are working on it.
     
  6. macrumors 6502

    3dflyboy1

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2011
    Location:
    California, USA
    #6

Share This Page