Cannot install Leopard on G5 Powermac

Discussion in 'PowerPC Macs' started by poopmonkey, Dec 31, 2010.

  1. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2008
    #1
    Let me explain. I have a G5 Powermac DP 2.0GHz that I recently received from a friend. Currently I have Tiger on this system, I am trying to install Leopard on this mac though when I put the install disc into the mac, it sees the disc and it seems to be reading it but it just shows the grey screen with the apple logo and the spinning dash wheel. I waited around 20-25 minutes on that screen and it goes nowhere. Though during this time I noticed that the powermac's fans kicked up gradually to 100%. It became really loud though the air coming out of it was cool, not even warm. Anyways, I guessed that maybe the disc is having trouble reading. So I tried to make a image of this disc and restore it on a usb external drive. Again I noticed after the fact that PowerPCs cannot boot from USBs. Unfortunately, all I have is USB drives, unless I use my sole MyBook (Has a lot of free space) which can connect via Firewire but I need to know that an image to MyBook will not delete any data from the drive because I need all the files on that drive.


    Anyone help a new mac user out?
     
  2. macrumors 6502

    d88co88

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2009
    Location:
    MN
    #2
    Sounds to me like you might have a bad disc drive. Find one on ebay or go to a bestbuy or something, they're pretty cheap. Any drive would work, just make sure it's a PATA one.
     
  3. macrumors 6502a

    VanneDC

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2010
    Location:
    Dubai, UAE
    #3
    is it a black (retail) or grey (Specific) install disk?
    the grey disks will not work if its not for your specific model...
     
  4. macrumors 68000

    Hrududu

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2008
    Location:
    Wichita KS
    #4
    I'm gonna 2nd this suggestion. Optical drives fail more often than I think people realize. The one in that G5 is minimum 5 years old at this point and is probably done. It uses ATA, so make sure you don't get a SATA one. Used ones from G5's can be found pretty cheap on eBay too.
     
  5. thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2008
    #5
    Hey guys thanks for chiming in! Though I managed to install leopard which I am currently typing on via copying the image of the DVD over to my harddrive and then restoring it onto a spare sata drive that I had from a xbox 360. It was a notebook drive but it connected and sits perfectly inside the G5. Once I restored the image of Leopard onto the harddrive it worked great no trouble what so ever. Anyways, thanks again for the help.
     

Share This Page