Cannot surf, email ..wirelessly

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by Danib, Mar 12, 2007.

  1. Danib macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2007
    Location:
    Montreal, Canada
    #1
    Hi,
    I'm new to the Mac world and cannot find how to solve this wireless problem with my G4.

    I have a Linksys wireless router, to which 4 PC's are currently hooked up to and this one Mac. My Mac says I am connected to the Linksys/network via Airport Extreme...with a proper IP and subnet mask....however I cannot surf on Safari, Firefox or send/recieve email.
    Connecting via ethernet works fine....just cannot connect wirelessly.


    Would someone be able to give me a hand in how to solve this problem?

    Thanks in advance
     
  2. mad jew Moderator emeritus

    mad jew

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2004
    Location:
    Adelaide, Australia
    #2
    Try creating a new location in the Network pane of System Preferences to give yourself a fresh set of proxy settings. :)
     
  3. cwedl macrumors 65816

    cwedl

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2003
    #3
    Or you could type in your primary dns in the list of dns servers this may work, I had the same problem some time ago with my BT router but this sorted the problem out.
     
  4. Pressure macrumors 68040

    Pressure

    Joined:
    May 30, 2006
    Location:
    Denmark
    #4
    Have you tried resetting your Linksys wireless router?
    Is the ethernet cable still attached when trying to connect via wireless?
     
  5. Danib thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2007
    Location:
    Montreal, Canada
    #5
    Hi again and thanks for your replies :)

    Mad Jew - I have tried that several times...no go unfortunately
    cwedl - I had entered the DNS numbers myself to see if that would resolve the problem...that didn't work either.
    Pressure - That I haven't done yet...I'll try that when I get home and see if that will work...I'll post back with the results. (thanks guys :) )

    I forgot to mention...Pressure - The ethernet cable is not plugged in at the time. Also...my router does see it, does assign it an IP, it says I am connected....just can't surf and my email says "working Offline"

    Thanks :)
     
  6. zephead macrumors 68000

    zephead

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2006
    Location:
    in your pants
    #6
    Is your Mac fully updated :)apple: menu > Software Update)? Apple just released OS 10.4.9 yesterday, and that fixed the wireless problems my mom was having on her iMac.
     
  7. Danib thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2007
    Location:
    Montreal, Canada
    #7
    Thanks for responding Zephead

    It was up to date until yesterday :)
    So I will give that a try this eve as well and see if that works.

    I'll keep you guys posted!

    Thanks :)
     
  8. Danib thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2007
    Location:
    Montreal, Canada
    #8
    I'm back...and I am finally at my wits end.
    Pressure: I tried resetting the router and it didn't work. It did however, this time, give me the 169.254.137.68 ip address with a subnet mask of 255.255.0.0
    Zephead: I updated, but...didn't work.

    I don't know what else to do at this point....:confused:

    Any other ideas?

    Thanks in advance
     
  9. jtuchelt macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2007
    #9
    Hello Danib, The first thing I'd recommend is to powercycle your modem and router, you may have already tried this but just to make sure I would unplug all cables including power, ethernet, and your internet line from the wall.-Leave all cables uplugged for ten minutes, then plug them back in.

    If you are still having trouble I would suggest removing all system configuration settings by going into:
    Mac HD/Library/Preferences/SystemConfiguration-Move the entire SystemConfiguration folder into the trash, then restart the computer(The system configuration folder will be reproduced with default settings on startup).
    The go back into Network Preferences and configure all of your settings again.

    If you are still having issues try to contact Linkseys for any firmware/software updates available.
     
  10. Danib thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2007
    Location:
    Montreal, Canada
    #10
    Hello again,

    Thought I would add an update for you all.
    I still cannot connect via my linksys router wirelessly, I can with the ethernet.

    jtuchel - I went and did what you suggested....still doesnt work. Thanks however for the suggestion :)

    What is interesting is when I went to connect to a wireless network and chose my neighbours instead of mine, it connected immediately and I was able to surf, receive emails...etc With his router (Netgear).

    With mine...no go. I updated the firmware on the router....still no go.

    Any other suggestions?
    Thanks :)
     
  11. Angrist macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2005
    Location:
    MI or NJ
    #11
    Does your router have an access list ?

    If the G4 isn't on the list it'll still connect and get an IP address, but not allow any real traffic.


    When you're on the wireless, open the Network utility and try a traceroute on something like google. That should tell you how far out into the outside world you can get.
     

Share This Page