Cannot use internet even though I'm connected

Discussion in 'Mac Basics and Help' started by DECAPITATIONCON, Aug 25, 2005.

  1. DECAPITATIONCON macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2005
    #1
    Hi everyone. I just got an original airport card for my iBook G3 and up until today it's been running fine. Today, however, I turn on my computer, and while my signal level is full and my preferences say that I am connected to the internet via the airport card, whenever I try to open a webpage or connect to AIM it says that I am not connected to the internet. I'm very confused and frustrated. Can anyone help?
     
  2. madmax_2069 macrumors 6502a

    madmax_2069

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2005
    Location:
    Springfield Ohio
    #2
    yea when wifi see's a connection it will say its connected. but do u think there could be some settings in the web browser that got messed up or look for a connect in the file drop down box when u got your browser running or mabe somehow a proxy server got turned on in the browser . or mabe the broadband router lost sink with the modem if u have broadband try to put the modem and the router threw a power cycle just turn the modem off and the router off then power the modem back on first and then wait for a min or so then turn on the router make shure u can set up the router does it come setup disk if so u might have to plug your laptop directly into the modem threw a cat 5 ethernet cable and try a connection there if u do just unplug the laptop when u are still online and then plug the router in power the router up then plug the modem into the router and plug the laptop into the router then try to surf the net

    well i tryed my best im am new to macintosh computing so i dont know all the qurks of the macintosh mac os system yet
     
  3. DECAPITATIONCON thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2005
    #3
    Thanks for the help. I'm trying that all now.

    :)
     
  4. madmax_2069 macrumors 6502a

    madmax_2069

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2005
    Location:
    Springfield Ohio
    #4
    ok cool tell me how it all goes and make shure once u tryed all of it and it still dont work see in the router is blocking your mac address or ip address or it could be the change of the ip address if u got a connection that changes ip address every so often i think thats adsl or somthing but its somthing that one of the above things to do in the above post will work out to some routers have a sertan ip to get into the internal config like type in 192.168.1.1 for most routers to enter the internal setup of the router
     
  5. clayj macrumors 604

    clayj

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2005
    Location:
    visiting from downstream
    #5
    In your network settings, make sure that you either have DHCP enabled, or if you've set an IP address manually, that you have valid DNS server IP addresses entered. If you specify a manual IP address for your machine and do NOT specify DNS servers, you won't be able to surf the web, although you will be able to see other machines on your local network.
     

Share This Page