Canon PowerShot S500

Discussion in 'Macintosh Computers' started by robotrenegade, Jul 9, 2004.

  1. robotrenegade
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2002
    Location:
    Greenville,SC
    #1
    Ok I have a digital camera question. I got this camera for my girlfriend so she won't have photoshop etc... Ok I opened the camera to check her out i took some photos etc.. When I plug the card in to my reader or straight from the camera I don't see the drive on my desktop. iPhoto sees it fine but how do i get the video clips off of it?
     
  2. iJon
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors 604

    iJon

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2002
    #2
    its retarded, i have the same camera. you need to install canon's mac software to get the avi's off.

    iJon
     
  3. robotrenegade
    Expand Collapse
    thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2002
    Location:
    Greenville,SC
    #3
    That sucks, I didn't want to use it. I have a D-100 and i don't need Nikons stuff.
     
  4. robotrenegade
    Expand Collapse
    thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2002
    Location:
    Greenville,SC
    #4
    Also does the disk have the newest version? It says Arcsoft VideoImpression 1.6. Thats what i need to install right?
     
  5. Freg3000
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors 68000

    Freg3000

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2002
    Location:
    New York
    #5
    No no no!!! Don't install their stupid software, use Image Capture instead. I have the S400 (I love it), so it should work for you as well.

    It's very easy tooi.
     
  6. robotrenegade
    Expand Collapse
    thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2002
    Location:
    Greenville,SC
    #6
    Thanks that really helps.
     
  7. FuzzyBallz
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors 6502a

    FuzzyBallz

    Joined:
    May 2, 2003
    Location:
    Home of Al-Qaida
    #7
    Hmmm... must be a Mac thing. I got the S400, shot some videos, plugged the CF card into the reader to my PC, video showed up as QT video.
     
  8. raynegus
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2003
    #8
    Definitely DO NOT install the crappy Canon software. 3rd party software like that is rarely needed on a Mac.

    Use Image Capture for movies, iPhoto for photos.

    Great camera by the way. I have one.

    Get her an Epson R800 to print 8.5 x 11 on Epson Premium Glossy and she'll be in heaven. (But don't install the crappy Epson software! Download the printer driver off the Epson website if the OS doesn't already have it. You only need the driver.)

    Chuck the software that comes with those products. The Japanese make great electronics but they generally SUCK at writing code, especially for the Mac.
     
  9. papolo
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2003
    Location:
    Pacific Ocean
    #9
    if you plug directly the card form slot such USB or the PCMCIA you need to RE-format the card. So with the utility disk make it a MS-DOS disk, like that you will have compatibility with all OS (Win, Linux and OS X as well). It will not affect any device which uses this card. You don't need to install softs...
     

Share This Page