Can't access internet. Help.

Discussion in 'Mac Basics and Help' started by mccldwll, Oct 20, 2006.

  1. mccldwll macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2006
    #1
    Parents' iMac G4 (Explorer 5.0 or 5.1/OS 9.2 classic, but also in 10.1))has lost internet connectivity. It's not the cable modem. Have tossed TCP/IP preferences from HD, restarted, and reset, but still nothing. They don't remember anything in particular happening. Any ideas?
    Thanks.
     
  2. frankblundt macrumors 65816

    frankblundt

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2005
    Location:
    South of the border
    #2
    What error message comes up in Sys Prefs > Network > Show Status ?
    and what (if anything) comes up under TCP/IP ?
    Is this a wired or wireless connection?

    (sorry, thinking in OSX.4 terms, not sure if it's organised that way under 10.1)

    Is there another computer on the network that you've checked the modem with? Is it a router or just a modem?
     
  3. 4JNA macrumors 68000

    4JNA

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2006
    Location:
    looking for trash files
    #3
    i second everything he just said. can you open a terminal window and ping the router/modem? can you ping google.com which would rule out a naming issue? if anything else on the network that has internet connectivity... that would change the situation a lot. more info please...
     
  4. cgratti macrumors 6502a

    cgratti

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2004
    Location:
    Central Pennsylvania, USA
    #4
    are you connected to a router? if so, pull the plug for 30 seconds and turn it back on.
     
  5. mccldwll thread starter macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2006
    #5
    Sorry didn't post the error message. Will get.

    In the meantime--
    no router
    only computer connected
    did all the unplugging, waiting (even went through procedures w/ Adelphia Cable)
    I hooked up a different computer to test line/modem and it's working OK
     
  6. Eraserhead macrumors G4

    Eraserhead

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2005
    Location:
    UK
    #6
    It may be the cable modem really needs a better version of OS X, assuming you upgrade the RAM to around 512 to 1GB RAM Tiger 10.4 will run fine on an iMac G4.
     
  7. mccldwll thread starter macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2006
    #7
    Nope. Substituted machine now on that line/modem a G3 running 9.2. It happened overnight.
     
  8. mccldwll thread starter macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2006
    #8
    Error Message something like

    Accessing URL "http://www.google.com" failed
     
  9. yg17 macrumors G5

    yg17

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2004
    Location:
    St. Louis, MO
    #9

    The cable modem doesn't care what operating system or what version of said operating system is connecting to it. As long as the operating system supports DHCP and TCP/IP, and probably a couple other protocols, which virtually every OS since the windows 3.1 days supports, then it will work.
     
  10. mccldwll thread starter macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2006
    #10
    Update

    Turned out to fried ethernet port, which on imac G4 is on motherboard. In past few weeks have discovered lightning kills a lot of these things. Apple tech first told me computer was not worth fixing. I then asked if I could get airport card and endrun motherboard. Yes. With further digging I found that a usb/ethernet adapter is available w/ software/drivers (found on ebay--but guy's email is adzoox@adzoox.com). Runs great. Highly recommended.
     

Share This Page