Can't activate Facetime

Discussion in 'iPhone' started by fjs08, Dec 26, 2012.

  1. fjs08 macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2003
    #1
    Hi,
    How do I activate Facetime. I'm on the Settings/Facetime area. I input my Apple ID and password, but I keep getting "waiting for Activation," then "could not sign in, please check network connection."
    The Apple Id works since I can download and update other Apps.
    Thx.
    Frank
     
  2. pnyc macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    May 12, 2007
    Location:
    Brooklyn, NY
  3. fjs08 thread starter macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2003
    #3
    I have tried all of the stuff I could find in those articles and nothing works.
    Sad but I found articles dating back a few years w this issue. Can't believe Apple hasn't found a cure yet!!
    Any other thoughts??
    Thx.
    Frank
     
  4. Afbar1114 macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2012
    #4
    I was having problems with this as well yesterday
     
  5. j.dstasio macrumors 6502

    j.dstasio

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2009
    Location:
    South Jersey
    #5
    The activation servers are probably just lagging behind because of all the new iPods, iPads and iPhones people received as gifts yesterday. I'd just give it some time.
     
  6. JPChicago macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2012
    Location:
    Chicago
    #6
    It's the activation servers for sure. My iPod 5 wouldn't activate neither. It would just stall at "verifying". But try later and it'll work.
     
  7. fjs08 thread starter macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2003
    #7
    To be honest, I've been trying for about a week. Maybe the Holidays?? lots of iPhones from Santa??<g. I'll see what happens.
    Thx.
    Frank
     
  8. Applejuiced macrumors Nehalem

    Applejuiced

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2008
    Location:
    At the iPhone hacks section.
    #8
    Mine activated fast in less than a minute when I tried about an hour ago.
    Maybe something else that's causing a prob?
     
  9. fjs08 thread starter macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2003
    #9
    AppleJuiced,
    where are you located. Just tried again here in Florida and nothing.
    Frank
     
  10. Applejuiced macrumors Nehalem

    Applejuiced

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2008
    Location:
    At the iPhone hacks section.
    #10
    Patriots land, New England area:D
    Are you connected to wifi when trying to activate it?
    Try a restart, maybe reset network settings.
    My iphone 5 facetime activated using my phone number, not my apple ID. Not sure if that makes a difference or not though.
     
  11. fjs08 thread starter macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2003
    #11
    On WiFi,
    Where is the network settings to reset??
    Where do you input the phone number to activate? Just asks for my Apple ID and password.
    Thx.
    Frank
     
  12. Applejuiced macrumors Nehalem

    Applejuiced

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2008
    Location:
    At the iPhone hacks section.
    #12
    settings/general/reset/ reset network.

    On settings/facetime I just turned on facetime and then on the bottom it says "you can be reached by facetime at: and shows a checkmark with my phone number.
    I never added my email.
    [​IMG]

    What model iphone you're using, what firmware version and what carrier?
     
  13. fjs08 thread starter macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2003
    #13
    iPhone 5.. .Brand new from Best Buy little over 2 weeks ago.
    Verizon.
    Version 6.0.2
    Where will I find Firmware??
    Frank

    ----------

    >>settings/general/reset/ reset network<<

    Will I need to do anything after I reset the network??
    Frank

    ----------

    What does resetting the network do... just curious???
    Frank
     
  14. Applejuiced macrumors Nehalem

    Applejuiced

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2008
    Location:
    At the iPhone hacks section.
    #14
    It just refreshes your network settings.
    You'll be ok.
     
  15. fjs08 thread starter macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2003
  16. fjs08 thread starter macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2003
  17. spyguy10709 macrumors 6502a

    spyguy10709

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2010
    Location:
    One Infinite Loop, Cupertino CA
    #18
    Hey -- try plugging it into iTunes on your computer, and set it up in iTunes. If that doesn't work, try restoring, then activating.

    The servers have been swamped, so I'd wait for a good day or two before doing it IMHO, but give that a shot if you're feeling impatient.
     
  18. adeedew macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2005
    #19
    call ATT and make sure they have your IMEI number in their system to your phone and you have a proper data plan with them for the Iphone, i bet that's your problem
     
  19. adeedew macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2005
    #21
    ah-ha, was looking at another post with pictures that said ATT thought it was him, i still say call Verizon then, i know i had same prob w/ Att
     
  20. Applejuiced macrumors Nehalem

    Applejuiced

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2008
    Location:
    At the iPhone hacks section.
    #22
    True, ring up your carrier frank and see if they can be of any help in activating this feature.
     

Share This Page