Cant boot from OSX to install

Discussion in 'Mac Apps and Mac App Store' started by trikenik, Sep 4, 2003.

  1. trikenik macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2003
    Location:
    Melbourne, Australia
    #1
    Hi , i'm a pc guy attempting to help my mac cousin with his dual 867
    G4.
    He recently reformatted and partitioned his hdd and started a fresh
    insto, which stalled at 99%. After waiting approx 45-60 mins he
    decided to reset the power (at the wall!), and try the install again.
    Now he is unable to boot from the sys insto disk!.
    List of symptoms and things i've tried.

    a.When force booting from CD you can hear it spin up , but it slows
    down again and eventually we get a screen that alternates betwen a
    folder and a question mark.
    b. I tried another cd drive, same thing. I disconnected the data cable
    from the hdd and connected it to the cd tried to boot, same thing.
    c. Norton Utilies cd wont boot.
    d. I've tried my working cd drive on my working data cable on all his
    ide controllers, it will not boot.
    e. Removed all pci devices except video card.
    f. Reseated all ram, then tried booting with each individual module
    g. Hdd also seems to spin up but doesent sound like it's being read.
    h. Tried zapping pram

    I dont know what else to try, any help greatly appreciated :)
     
  2. MacBandit macrumors 604

    MacBandit

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2002
    Location:
    Springfield, OR (Home of the Simpsons)
    #2
    First off just to make sure here you are holding the 'C' key down while booting up which forces the computer to boot off the cd?
     
  3. trikenik thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2003
    Location:
    Melbourne, Australia
  4. arn macrumors god

    arn

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2001
    #4
    Re: Cant boot from OSX to install

    Wow, you've gone through the list.

    The only additional thing I can think of is "resetting the motherboard" -- which involves pulling out the Moterboard battery (small cylindrical battery) for about 5-10 minutes. Then restarting the computer.

    Apple walked me through that once when I was having some troubles.

    beyond that, if norton and the system disk don't boot while you are holding the "C" key down, it seems it might be the system.

    Like you, my first instincts are RAM. Funny ram can cause weird problems like this.

    Another thing to try is to hold the OPTION key down right when you start or restart the computer. This should bring up the boot selector (where you can choose which drive to boot from). Make sure your boot cd is in the CD rom drive when doing so, and click on it and then try to boot like that. [Probably should try this before 'resetting the motherboard']

    arn
     
  5. trikenik thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2003
    Location:
    Melbourne, Australia
    #5
    Is that the screen that has what appears to be anti clockwise arrow (refresh?), and an arrow pointing to the right?. If so
    I get this occasionally if i dont force the cd boot option, and what happens is I get the timer for a few minutes then no matter which option I click on I get the timer etc etc...ad infinitum...
     
  6. MacBandit macrumors 604

    MacBandit

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2002
    Location:
    Springfield, OR (Home of the Simpsons)
    #6
    How about resetting the firmware?

    Try this.

    Hold the 'comman-option-O-F' keys during startup. It should come up with a text console prompt. Once there type the following with a return following each line.

    reset-nvram
    set-defaults
    reset-all

    Hopefully that will fix it.
     
  7. MacBandit macrumors 604

    MacBandit

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2002
    Location:
    Springfield, OR (Home of the Simpsons)
    #7
    It's doing that because it can't locate a startup disk.
     
  8. trikenik thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2003
    Location:
    Melbourne, Australia
    #8
    Thats what I figured, and why I tried different cd's and ide controllers/cables.
     
  9. aafuss1 macrumors 68000

    aafuss1

    Joined:
    May 5, 2002
    Location:
    Gold Coast, Australia
    #9
    Re: Cant boot from OSX to install

    Booting from a OS XCD is quite similar to booting of a Windows 2000/XP CD-for Macs-'C' and Windows you press any key. You can replace the MB battery, if desired. Also you need Mac OS 9.1 installed prior to installing OS X depending on which OS X version you have .
     
  10. MacBandit macrumors 604

    MacBandit

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2002
    Location:
    Springfield, OR (Home of the Simpsons)
    #10
    Re: Re: Cant boot from OSX to install

    It's only important to have OS9 pre-installed I believe with 10.1 and only if you want to run classic. With 10.2 it doesn't matter before or after.
     

Share This Page