can't bootup Panther Install CD on my iMac

Discussion in 'Mac OS X 10.3 (Panther) Discussion' started by Ken Reef, Oct 25, 2003.

  1. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2003
    Location:
    Hong Kong
    #1
    After I click the CD "Install Mac OS X" icon, it prompts for administrator password and reboot the machine. However, it just boot up to the old 10.2. I try press the "C" key during restart and it's just the same. I then goto System Preferences->Startup Disk, and notes there is no icon showing bootup from CDROM. I was really frustrated. How can I bootup from CDROM to install the Panther?
     
  2. macrumors 65816

    snickelfritz

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2003
    Location:
    Tucson AZ
    #2
    You might need a firmware update.
    There's mention of this and a URL in the readme file on disk 1 (IIRC).
     
  3. thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2003
    Location:
    Hong Kong
    #3
    :( I don't think so. According to the README, if the firmware is not ready for the installation, it will warn in the installation program. The program goes fine with me except it always boot the harddisk instead of CDROM.

    The System perference -> startup disk showed no CDROM icon. Is it the problem?
     
  4. macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2003
    Location:
    South Carolina
    #4
    the same happened to me when attempting install on my iBook SE (300MHz).. the problem was that it didn't meet the min. memory requirement. I added more RAM and it worked. You would think that it would at least startup and inform that min. requirements were not met.
     
  5. thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2003
    Location:
    Hong Kong
    #5
    :confused: Mine is iMac G4 800Mhz (Flat panel) with 256M memory and SuperDrive, and should meet the minimum requirement of Panther.
     
  6. macrumors 65816

    gotohamish

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2001
    Location:
    BKLN
    #6
    How are you trying to boot?

    Try holding C,

    or holding Option (alt) to bring up the blue screen boot selector,

    or try macosxhints.com for other forced methods perhaps.
     
  7. macrumors 65816

    bankshot

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2003
    Location:
    Southern California
    #7
  8. macrumors 604

    MacsRgr8

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2002
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    #8
    Does an other Mac boot from that CD?
    Maybe there is a problem with the CD itself.
     
  9. thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2003
    Location:
    Hong Kong
    #9
    Yes, it is my fault :D It may have some fingerprint onto the CD. After I cleaned it out, it can boot. Anyway, thanks all the help.
     

Share This Page