Can't Change my iCal Icon

Discussion in 'Mac Apps and Mac App Store' started by mashinhead, Mar 10, 2007.

  1. mashinhead macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2003
    #1
    I use change my icons, at least the dock ones to make them look uniform. I usually manually change them, (copy, ctrl+i, paste) but for ical i had a problem. I did the normal routine and it did work. It changed the icon to what i wanted, until i opened the program. Then it changed it back to the default icon. So i used Candybar to do the samething, and the same thing happened. I did this for about 20 icons or so, and they all changed, except for ical. Well it did change initally but when i opened it, it reverted.

    Anyone know why? This isn't a big deal, i'm curious though.
     
  2. CaptainZap macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2007
    #2
    Because when you open iCal, the icon changes to show what date it is.
     
  3. M@lew macrumors 68000

    M@lew

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2006
    Location:
    Melbourne, Australia
    #3
    Yep, so there's no way to have a difference iCal icon when the program is open.
     
  4. PlaceofDis macrumors Core

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2004
    #4
    actually there is a way to have a different icon even when the app is open. but you'd have to edit the package contents. and make sure it will has a space for the number change to show up otherwise the number will still be over-laid on top of whatever you change it to. i've played around with this a lot. and its quite frustrating.

    in the end... it wasn't worth it.
     
  5. TheAnswer macrumors 68030

    TheAnswer

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2002
    Location:
    Orange County, CA
    #5
    You might head over to the iconfactory and look through their past sets...I think one of the Smoothicons sets might have had a blank calendar with instructions for where inside the iCal .pkg that file goes.

    Long story short...I think you can change it, but it's a pain and most people that make icon sets don't bother with the blank calendar one.
     
  6. nefasdicere macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2008
    #6
    I replaced the App-empty.icns file inside the resource folder of the iCal package with a custom icon (iCal/Contents/Resources/App-empty.icns), which was fine as long as the program was running. When iCal was quit, it reverted to the standard icon with current date.

    There is another App-empty.icns file inside the iCalDockExtra.bundle package in another resource folder (iCal/Contents/Resources/iCalDockExtra.bundle/Contents/Resources/App-empty.icns). After I replaced that file as well, iCal remains customized at all times.
     
  7. CTYankee macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2002
    #7

    THANK YOU!!! This has been bugging me for hours. I just started playing with Candybar again and iCal was my lone issue. I found the one empty icon, but the second was hiding. I missed that package, I only looked in folders. Good catch!
     
  8. auhsoj macrumors newbie

    auhsoj

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2008
    #8
    What if you had an icon that had a black background, and needed the color of the date text within the icon to be white? How could you change the text color? Maybe even the placement?

    Thanks,
    J
     
  9. songcunzhi macrumors member

    songcunzhi

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2008
    #9
    Thanks a lot. I finally know how to do this.
     
  10. lolcaz macrumors newbie

    lolcaz

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2009
    Location:
    London, England.
    #10
    I'm having a slightly different kind of problem. The iCal icon works fine when the program is running, but when it isn't running, I don't have any icon at all! It just shows the date: http://img133.imageshack.us/img133/2284/picture1nkl.png
    I don't know what I did to make it disappear but it's rather frustrating. I think it looks quite cool, actually, but it doesn't match the rest of my dock so I don't want to keep it that way.
     
  11. stefanyewest macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2009
    #11
    iconical

    ***You can download an application called iconical and it will let you change the color of your ical icon - that's the best that i can do, since the icon itself is really meant to show you the date. it doesn't work in snow leopard, but it does work in regular leopard osx
     
  12. Fodd1337 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2009
    #12
    I've searched EVERYTHING in iCal.app/Contents/Resources and it just isn't there! I've been looking for about 2 hours straight! Is there any way I can search for it or possibly it got renamed in Snow Leopard? :(
     
  13. nefasdicere macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2008
    #13
    iCal in Snow Leopard

    I did this when 10.6 was released, but, as I remember, there are still two files that must be replaced (in addition to the App.icns of course).

    1. Still at (iCal.app/Contents/Resources/App-empty.icns)

    2. Now at (iCal.app/Contents/Resources/iCalDockTilePlugIn.docktileplugin/Contents/Resources/App-empty.icns)

    That should do it after a reboot.
     
  14. Fodd1337 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2009
    #14
    Thanks, worked perfectly!
     
  15. megandhearts Suspended

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2009
    #15
    Is there anyway to get the date not to show? I'm using really simple text icons and I don't like the number overlay on my text.

    Thank you.
     
  16. JustinG87 macrumors member

    JustinG87

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2007
    Location:
    Seattle, WA
    #16
    Does anyone happen to have a hi-rez version of the iCal icon in blue?
     
  17. applemacman macrumors member

    applemacman

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2007
    Location:
    Dallas, Tx.
    #17
    iCal App iCon did not change

    For some reason this did not work for me. :confused:

    I followed the previously mentioned steps but it did not work.

    Am I missing something? ...any thoughts?

    Thanks
     
  18. UngratefulNinja macrumors 68000

    UngratefulNinja

    Joined:
    May 9, 2009
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    #18
    It doesn't work on mine either and I don't get why. I followed all of the steps above, rebooted, etc.
     
  19. applemacman macrumors member

    applemacman

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2007
    Location:
    Dallas, Tx.
    #19
    Figured it out finally. Probably not the simplest way but hey it worked for me.

    Maybe this will work for you UngratefulNinja.

    Instead of replacing the actually icon you can edit/adjust the original files.

    The following files will need to be edited and are found from the following instructions as previously stated.

    And open up each file and follow these instructions http://www.usingmac.com/2007/11/9/leopard-change-ical-icon-color

    For Black when you adjust the color move the following sliders only:
    Exposure and Saturation all the way to the left.
    Contrast a little past half (closer to 75%).

    Also make sure when you open each file in preview you adjust the color for each picture in the file (5 total, Big to Small)

    Depending on your disk permissions you need to authenticate and move the original file to the trash and then move the new file to the proper folder where it is replacing the original.

    Like I said this is just what I found to FINALY! work for me after many other failed attempts at other methods.

    Hope this helps.
    :apple:
     
  20. applemacman macrumors member

    applemacman

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2007
    Location:
    Dallas, Tx.
  21. UngratefulNinja macrumors 68000

    UngratefulNinja

    Joined:
    May 9, 2009
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
  22. unknownx macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2011
    #23
    I have custom icons in my dock now, But the Calendar icon is a bit bigger size then the rest of my custom icons..

    Are there any files in the content-map where to change the size?

    The icon itself is the same size as the rest, but i belive some codes makes it bigger
     
  23. bjm2660 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2011
    Location:
    Virginia
    #24
    Why is the overlay always on angle? Can it be adjusted? Can it be removed entirely?
     
  24. Pinkslip macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2014
    #25
    Thanks nefasdicere

    Thanks so much nefasdicere: that worked and I've been trying SO long to fix this; thought I had all the Show Package Contents/Contents/Resources icons covered! But this was a newbie.....thanks :rolleyes:

     

Share This Page