Can't connect Wi-Fi with new Linksys router

Discussion in 'iPod touch' started by VegasGirl, Jan 26, 2008.

  1. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2008
    #1
    I just set up a new Linksys wireless router today (WRT54G). I have my network locked with a 7-character password. When I try to access my new network with my iPod Touch, it "sees" the network and asks for my password. When I enter in the password, the "Join" button is not active. The button will become active only if I put in a space after my password, which makes it 8 characters, but of course now it says "can't connect." I've spent a couple of hours with Linksys support, and no one seems to know how to help.

    I did figure out that if I disable the security on the router, so that a password is not required, I can access my network just fine. But this is definitely not an option, obviously.

    Does anyone have any suggestions for me?

    Thanks! :confused:
     
  2. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2008
    #2
    Mac issue with Linksys

    I can't help with the iPod touch but my MacBook Pro is also having issues with my linksys wireless router. I can connect to the router just fine but can't get online. I have another laptop (PC) and it connects to the router and can go online. Anybody know what's up with Macs and Linksys routers?
     
  3. thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2008
    #3
    Solved my iPOD Touch to Linksys problem

    After a lot of digging around on the web, I found my answer. I changed my security setting to WEP, 128 bits, and used the Passphrase Key as my password on the iPod Touch (very long string of 25 or so alpha/numerics). I can now connect the Wi-fi to my Linksys. By the way, I don't have to enter that horrific password string each time, in case you're wondering. I just turn on the Wi-fi switch and it connects to my network.

    Cheers!
     
  4. macrumors 6502

    davidy

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2008
    #4
    You found it. The iPod Touch doesn't recognize router 64 bit settings.
     
  5. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2009
    #5
    Linksys routers

    I know two people who have Linksys routers, it's the same on both: I can connect but can't go anywhere. Neither is using 128 bit and since they're not mine, I can't easily change. However, I have a Netgear router and regularly link up to another Netgear and a couple D-Links with no problem without 128 bit strings (just 64 bit WEP) so I would assume there's something in the Linksys security that I've failed to find.
     
  6. macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2008
    #6
    WEP is so obsolete (and insecure), why the heck is anyone still using it?? Any WEP secure WLAN can be hacked in a matter of minutes. It's a joke, really.

    Do yourself a favor and disable WEP. You want WPA2 instead.
     
  7. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2009
    #7
    Linksys router quirks

    I agree but in most cases I'm not the one setting up the security.

    Following along on the Linksys issue, I disabled ALL security on a Linksys WRT54G router and still have the same problem: can connect but the Internet is inaccessible. Haven't had a chance to snoop around all the Linksys settings.
     

Share This Page