Can't edit categories

Discussion in 'Mac Guides' started by wordmunger, Nov 1, 2005.

  1. macrumors 603

    wordmunger

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2003
    Location:
    North Carolina
    #1
    I've tried to edit a couple of categories (most notably, "Storage" which should be a subcategory of "Third-Party Hardware), and the system doesn't let me. Is there something I 'm doing wrong?
     
  2. macrumors G4

    Joined:
    May 10, 2004
    #2
    Apple also makes storage solutions.
    An important part of a SAN is the software.
     
  3. macrumors G3

    iMeowbot

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2003
    #3
    What error message (if any) are you seeing?

    (Sorry if you understood this part) Categories are automatically generated if a [[Category:foo]] tag is found out in the regular articles. The only thing you can edit directly in a category is some introductory information that will appear above the lists of articles and categories.

    So, to add Category:Storage to Category:Third-Party Hardware, you would add the link [[Category:Third-Party Hardware]] anywhere inside the [[Category:Storage]] page.

    Does that answer your question, or am I misunderstanding what's happening to you?
     
  4. macrumors G3

    iMeowbot

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2003
    #4
    That's okay. A category can have more than one parent.
     
  5. arn
    macrumors god

    arn

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2001
    #5
    If you want Storage to be a subcategory if Third-Party Hardware.

    Go to Storage

    http://guides.macrumors.com/Category:Storage

    Click Edit

    Scroll down, and enter into the box whatever text you want associated with the category. If you want to make it a subcategory of of Third-Party Hardware, just added the following:

    [[Category:Third-Party Hardware]]

    arn
     
  6. thread starter macrumors 603

    wordmunger

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2003
    Location:
    North Carolina
    #6

    DUH.... sorry, everyone. I see now that I just had to scroll down. The list of articles appears before the edit window, so I couldn't see it. Sorry about that.
     

Share This Page