Can't enter single user mode.. Intel Mac

Discussion in 'macOS' started by generik, Apr 25, 2006.

  1. generik macrumors 601

    generik

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2005
    Location:
    Minitrue
    #1
    Is the keyboard shortcut still the same? I've tried Command-S for the past few boots but it doesn't seem to work. What I've been doing is holding down on the keys before powering it up... hitting them on power up.. etc etc.. but nothing! :mad:

    Any tips appreciated. Trying so hard to run god damned memtest :mad:
     
  2. mad jew Moderator emeritus

    mad jew

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2004
    Location:
    Adelaide, Australia
    #2
    It should still be the same. What sort of keyboard are you using? Could you try another? :)
     
  3. After G macrumors 68000

    After G

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2003
    Location:
    California
    #3
    Yes, the shortcut is the same. Press it after you hear the chime.

    Intel Mac shortcuts

    Ah well, mad jew beat me to it.

    Can you do it from the command-line without single-user mode? You can log in as ">console" and you'll get dumped into text mode.
     
  4. generik thread starter macrumors 601

    generik

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2005
    Location:
    Minitrue
    #4
    I'm doing it on one of those "natural" Microsoft keyboards. The Windows key acts as the Command key right?

    Urgh it is really frustrating >:X
     
  5. generik thread starter macrumors 601

    generik

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2005
    Location:
    Minitrue
    #5
    How do I log in as >Console?
     
  6. milkdev macrumors member

    milkdev

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2006
    Location:
    Germany
    #6
    Just start up OS X normally and instead of typing in your username, just type in ">console" (without the quotes, of course).
    You may need to set up OS X to let you type in your username at startup in the system preferences.
     

Share This Page