can't enter time machine?

Discussion in 'OS X' started by lukoson, Sep 2, 2009.

  1. lukoson
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2008
    #1
    Since updating to SL I found that nothing happens when I click on the Time Machine icon in the dock. Nor does it respond if I click "enter time machine" from the small icon in the menu bar. It is making backups though and If I manually go into the time machine drive through the finder I can see that the files are all on the drive. However, clicking on the icon does not do anything (i.e. it does not take me into the graphic of going back in time). Any ideas? :confused:
     
  2. Mugwumper
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2008
    Location:
    Palmdale, CA
    #2
    I noticed this, too . . .

    The icon at the top of the screen is always grayed out for me. When I open
    TM preferences, you can't turn it "on". Then I clicked on the lock on the
    lower left side, and I was able to make everything work.

    Now, after I've turned off and ejected my TM disk, the upper icon is still
    gray, but I can control things anyway.

    Feature or bug? ;^)
     
  3. lukoson
    Expand Collapse
    thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2008
    #3
    time machine bug?

    i was wondering if it is a bug. but sounds like our problems are slightly different. my icon is not grayed out and i can change the options and do everything as normal. I just can't "enter time machine".
     
  4. ddauerbach
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2008
    #4
    can't enter time machine

    Quite simply, me too. That is, backups are happening, I can look at the drive and see everything is proper, but enter time machine doesn't work.
    Could it be TimeMachineEditor?
     
  5. Don Wallen
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2012
    #5
    Same problem on my IMAC

    Time machine was running well until now, but in this moment still doing backup, but if I try to go into Time Machine, nothing happen and it is not any process open with Time Machine name on the Activity Monitor.
    Any suggestion?
     

Share This Page