Can't figure out why some websites don't load

Discussion in 'Community' started by ksz, Apr 26, 2005.

  1. ksz macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2003
    Location:
    San Jose, CA
    #1
    This may be a tough problem to solve. I've Googled and Yahooed for days in search of an answer, but no luck.

    Problem:
    I have a wireless 802.11g Netgear router connected to DSL service from SBC-Yahoo. Some websites refuse to load when running Safari on Mac or Internet Explorer on Windows.

    Sites that don't load: (All I get is "opening page http://..." followed by a browser timeout; no part of the website loads)

    1. ebay.com
    2. microsoft.com
    3. mac.com
    4. dell.com
    5. msn.com (pretty much everything by Microsoft including msdn.com)
    6. mcafee.com

    Sites that load properly (never had a problem with these):

    1. apple.com
    2. symantec.com
    3. pcworld.com
    4. pcmag.com
    5. anandtech.com
    6. tomshardware.com
    7. cnn.com
    8. yahoo.com
    9. google.com
    10. intel.com
    11. amd.com
    12. many many others

    I don't know what is common to the non-working group that renders those sites inaccessible. However, there are 2 interesting exemptions:

    1. There is no problem connecting to ANY website if I use the browser built in to AOL.

    2. AOL 9.0 SE for Windows installs "Port Magic" which somehow solves the accessibility problem with Safari and Internet Explorer! Port Magic, however, conflicts with Google's Desktop Search engine and appears to be inconsistent in starting up. I can try to fool around with it, but I'd rather figure out what the root cause is.

    I've tried changing MTU on my router and Windows PCs to no avail. It's currently set to 1500, but I tried 1492 and 1454.

    Have you had a similar problem? Were you able to fix it? Are you having a similar problem now? Any experts know what might be going on?


    EDIT: Aarg, this needs to move to the Help Forum.
     
  2. angelneo macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2004
    Location:
    afk
    #2
    What happens if you do a traceroute? can you cut and paste the result here?

    Just in case if you don't know,
    on Mac:
    open Terminal
    Type in "traceroute www.microsoft.com"

    on Windows:
    click Start, click run
    Type in "cmd", hit enter
    Type in "tracert www.microsoft.com"
     
  3. ksz thread starter macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2003
    Location:
    San Jose, CA
    #3
    Here's traceroute from the Mac:

    $ traceroute www.microsoft.com
    traceroute to www.microsoft.com.nsatc.net (207.46.199.30), 30 hops max, 40 byte packets
    1 wgt634u (192.168.1.1) 33.289 ms 1.369 ms 1.199 ms
    2 adsl-63-201-95-254.dsl.snfc21.pacbell.net (63.201.95.254) 10.263 ms 11.045 ms 9.461 ms
    3 dist2-vlan50.snfc21.pbi.net (206.171.134.131) 11.689 ms 10.369 ms 10.25 ms
    4 bb2-10g2-0.snfcca.sbcglobal.net (216.102.176.226) 10.234 ms 15.091 ms 20.268 ms
    5 bb1-p4-0.snfcca.sbcglobal.net (151.164.190.189) 13.702 ms 12.255 ms 10.999 ms
    6 core1-p14-1.crsfca.sbcglobal.net (151.164.242.65) 11.608 ms 16.94 ms 13.098 ms
    7 bb1-p8-0.crsfca.sbcglobal.net (151.164.243.2) 11.866 ms 10.077 ms 22.589 ms
    8 ex1-p13-0.pxpaca.sbcglobal.net (151.164.40.146) 11.886 ms 11.839 ms 14.585 ms
    9 151.164.249.58 (151.164.249.58) 12.569 ms 11.987 ms 13.565 ms
    10 207.46.41.129 (207.46.41.129) 11.086 ms 13.132 ms 15.145 ms
    11 pos6-2.tuk-76cb-1a.ntwk.msn.net (207.46.34.173) 189.407 ms 125.801 ms 198.043 ms
    12 pos1-0.iuskixcpxc1202.ntwk.msn.net (207.46.36.146) 31.448 ms 29.412 ms 29.203 ms
    13 pos1-0.tke-12ix-1b.ntwk.msn.net (207.46.155.5) 39.049 ms 30.328 ms 30.154 ms
    14 po11.tuk-65ns-mcs-1a.ntwk.msn.net (207.46.224.216) 30.022 ms 31.688 ms 29.984 ms
    15 * * *
    16 * * *
    17 * * *
    18 * * *
     
  4. Doctor Q Administrator

    Doctor Q

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2002
    Location:
    Los Angeles
    #4
    I had a problem just like that. It turned out that my firewall device had a built-in list of "approved" domains and sometimes wouldn't let traffic through to others. I can't explain the "sometimes" part, but once we turned off the feature everything worked fine.

    Might your router have a feature like that?
     
  5. ksz thread starter macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2003
    Location:
    San Jose, CA
    #5
    And here's the same from Windows:

    C:\>tracert www.microsoft.com

    Tracing route to www.microsoft.com.nsatc.net [207.46.199.60]
    over a maximum of 30 hops:

    1 9 ms 3 ms 1 ms WGT634U [192.168.1.1]
    2 10 ms 11 ms 9 ms adsl-63-201-95-254.dsl.snfc21.pacbell.net[63.201.95.254]
    3 11 ms 10 ms 13 ms dist2-vlan50.snfc21.pbi.net [206.171.134.131]
    4 10 ms 10 ms 12 ms bb2-10g2-0.snfcca.sbcglobal.net[216.102.176.226]
    5 11 ms 10 ms 10 ms bb1-p4-0.snfcca.sbcglobal.net[151.164.190.189]
    6 11 ms 11 ms 10 ms core1-p14-1.crsfca.sbcglobal.net[151.164.242.65]
    7 10 ms 11 ms 10 ms bb1-p8-0.crsfca.sbcglobal.net [151.164.243.2]
    8 11 ms 14 ms 11 ms ex1-p13-0.pxpaca.sbcglobal.net[151.164.40.146]
    9 17 ms 13 ms 17 ms 151.164.249.58
    10 14 ms 12 ms 15 ms 207.46.41.129
    11 32 ms 30 ms 30 ms pos6-2.tuk-76cb-1a.ntwk.msn.net[207.46.34.173]
    12 * 30 ms 30 ms pos1-0.iuskixcpxc1202.ntwk.msn.net[207.46.36.146]
    13 30 ms 31 ms 30 ms pos1-0.tke-12ix-1b.ntwk.msn.net[207.46.155.5]
    14 29 ms 31 ms 30 ms po10.tuk-65ns-mcs-1a.ntwk.msn.net[207.46.224.151]
    15 * * * Request timed out.
    16 * * * Request timed out.
    17 * * * Request timed out.
     
  6. ksz thread starter macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2003
    Location:
    San Jose, CA
    #6
    Although my WGT634U router has a built-in firewall, there is no impact to this problem if that firewall is enabled or disabled.
     
  7. angelneo macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2004
    Location:
    afk
    #7
    I read up on Port Magic, and it states something about managing the ports. Maybe if you try to set the computer you are currently using as your default "server" on your router, just to check whether if it is the port forwarding that is causing the problem.
     
  8. Mitthrawnuruodo Moderator emeritus

    Mitthrawnuruodo

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2004
    Location:
    Bergen, Norway
    #8
    Really puzzeling...

    When I traceroute, I get more or less the same result as over, but accessing www.microsoft.com using Firefox or Safari the page loads in fractions of a second... :confused:

    Using an iBook G4 with 10.3.9, Safari 1.3 and Firefox 1.0.3
     
  9. angelneo macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2004
    Location:
    afk
    #9
    so sorry, microsoft.com is a bad example to do traceroute. but ksz tracert has shown that his dns is still working.
     
  10. ksz thread starter macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2003
    Location:
    San Jose, CA
    #10
    Thinking that the problem might be with either the service provider, the router or my computer, I tried isolating the problem by first replacing the router with an older US Robotics model that I had lying around. Immediately the problem went away and all websites load just fine.

    I've had the Netgear WGT634U for about a year and, well, I'm just really disappointed by it. I didn't think the problem would be with the router, but I'm not surprised given that their firmware has been buggy and they've been posting a number of updates. The USR8054 is working flawlessly.
     

Share This Page