Can't get Crucial or Kingston, how's Patriot?

Discussion in 'iMac' started by bembol, Feb 6, 2013.

  1. bembol macrumors 6502a

    bembol

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2006
    #1
  2. jaimejaime macrumors newbie

    jaimejaime

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2013
    #2
  3. davidlv macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2009
    Location:
    Kyoto, Japan
    #3
    I don't know that those are the correct chips for the iMac, probably are though, but I can tell you my Patriot RAM has worked fine for several months now, cheap but reliable.
     
  4. jtrainor56 macrumors regular

    jtrainor56

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2010
    Location:
    Sinking Spring, Pennsylvania
    #4
    The memory from NewEgg has a latency of 10, the new iMac uses L11. Using L10 may show the memory at 1333 mhz instead of 1600mhz. To tell the truth, I have owned, built and supported PC's and servers for more than 25 years and never had a problem with memory no matter what brand. I think you'll be fine with the Patriot.
     
  5. jaimejaime macrumors newbie

    jaimejaime

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2013
    #5
    I've got it installed on mine and it reads as 1600, so I think it's fine? I've had no issue whatsoever.

    And also, as you mentioned, I'm not really sure how much brand matters when it comes to RAM.
     
  6. seanm9 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2007
    Location:
    Cape Cod, MA
    #6
    its only if you mix the stock CL11 ram with the faster CL10 that the bus speed slows
     
  7. bembol thread starter macrumors 6502a

    bembol

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2006
  8. drambuie macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2010
    #9
    Canada Computers carries Kingston KVR16S11/8. I got a couple at the local CC for my 2012 iMac and it works perfectly. The DIMMs I got use Hynix chips, the same chips that Apple uses in its 8GB DIMMs. Also, except for the part number they are identical to Kingston KTA-MB1600/8G certified Apple compatible SODIMMs.
     

Share This Page