Can't get Crucial or Kingston, how's Patriot?

Discussion in 'iMac' started by bembol, Feb 6, 2013.

  1. macrumors 6502a

    bembol

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2006
    #1
  2. macrumors newbie

    jaimejaime

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2013
    #2
  3. macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2009
    Location:
    Kyoto, Japan
    #3
    I don't know that those are the correct chips for the iMac, probably are though, but I can tell you my Patriot RAM has worked fine for several months now, cheap but reliable.
     
  4. macrumors member

    jtrainor56

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2010
    Location:
    Sinking Spring, Pennsylvania
    #4
    The memory from NewEgg has a latency of 10, the new iMac uses L11. Using L10 may show the memory at 1333 mhz instead of 1600mhz. To tell the truth, I have owned, built and supported PC's and servers for more than 25 years and never had a problem with memory no matter what brand. I think you'll be fine with the Patriot.
     
  5. macrumors newbie

    jaimejaime

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2013
    #5
    I've got it installed on mine and it reads as 1600, so I think it's fine? I've had no issue whatsoever.

    And also, as you mentioned, I'm not really sure how much brand matters when it comes to RAM.
     
  6. macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2007
    Location:
    Cape Cod, MA
    #6
    its only if you mix the stock CL11 ram with the faster CL10 that the bus speed slows
     
  7. thread starter macrumors 6502a

    bembol

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2006
  8. macrumors 68040

    Giuly

  9. macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2010
    #9
    Canada Computers carries Kingston KVR16S11/8. I got a couple at the local CC for my 2012 iMac and it works perfectly. The DIMMs I got use Hynix chips, the same chips that Apple uses in its 8GB DIMMs. Also, except for the part number they are identical to Kingston KTA-MB1600/8G certified Apple compatible SODIMMs.
     
  10. macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2007

Share This Page