Can't get iBook on internet.

Discussion in 'General Mac Discussion' started by sjpetry, Mar 2, 2005.

  1. sjpetry macrumors 65816

    sjpetry

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2004
    Location:
    Tamarindo, Costa Rica
    #1
    I have a 12" iBook but I can't get on the internet. I have it plugged in the Internet via the Ethernet port. I have the computer set on automatic and it won't connect. I have tried manual, but I don't know what to do. :(

    With my iMac all I have to do is plug it in and it works. :) :(


    Thanks, I know the people at MR can help me. :)
     
  2. varmit macrumors 68000

    varmit

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2003
    #2
    Do you normally have your iBook connected to the internet in another way, such as though the internal modem? Open up System Preferences, Network, and the "Show" drop down menu, choose "Network Port Configurations". Then uncheck everything but what you want to use. So uncheck internal modem, then try agian. You can also make "Locations". So that you can Click on the Apple in the top left, choose Location, choose where you are at and it will automatically do this for you. Otherwise, you need to come back in to Network later and check all the options you want again when you want to use a certain one.
     
  3. sjpetry thread starter macrumors 65816

    sjpetry

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2004
    Location:
    Tamarindo, Costa Rica
    #3
    Ok I do not see any of what you are talking about after "Network".

    It look like this:
     

    Attached Files:

  4. jsw Moderator emeritus

    jsw

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2004
    Location:
    Andover, MA
    #4
    Just double-click on the Built-in Ethernet (in your pic above), go to the IPv4 tab, and set it to "Configure IPv4: Using DHCP"
     
  5. sjpetry thread starter macrumors 65816

    sjpetry

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2004
    Location:
    Tamarindo, Costa Rica
    #5
    I'm thee, but it still doesn't work. :(
     

    Attached Files:

    • dd.jpg
      dd.jpg
      File size:
      85.3 KB
      Views:
      30
  6. Daveway macrumors 68040

    Daveway

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2004
    Location:
    New Orleans / Lafayette, La
    #6
    Are you connecting through a router or modem?
     
  7. h0e0h macrumors 6502a

    h0e0h

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2004
    Location:
    West Monroe, Louisiana
    #7
    have you tried

    a.) copying the IP and stuff manually from your iMac? Maybe that could work...

    or b.) renewing your DHCP Lease?
     
  8. sjpetry thread starter macrumors 65816

    sjpetry

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2004
    Location:
    Tamarindo, Costa Rica
    #8
    It's a RCA cable modem.
     
  9. sjpetry thread starter macrumors 65816

    sjpetry

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2004
    Location:
    Tamarindo, Costa Rica
    #9
    Everything is the same except the Ethernet ID:. Also on the iBook their is no Router #.
     
  10. ftaok macrumors 601

    ftaok

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2002
    Location:
    East Coast
    #10
    Sounds like you need to renew the IP lease on your cable connection. The modem is still "registered" to the iMac. I've had success by turning off the modem, waiting 30 seconds, and turning it back on. Plug in the iBook and you should be good. However, if you want to switch back to the iMac, you'll need to reset the modem.

    It's a hassle and the solution is to get a cheap router. The IP lease will be set for the router and the router will issue IP addresses to the iMac and iBook.
     
  11. floatingspirit macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2001
    Location:
    Seattle, WA
    #11
    Have the ibook all plugged in and set to use internet, automatic connect as mentioned above and set for ethernet. Then, pull the power plug out of the back of the modem. Wait a couple minutes. Plug it back in and then see if the iBook has internet access.
     
  12. floatingspirit macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2001
    Location:
    Seattle, WA
    #12
    Ah, a case of "simul-post". That's what I'm talkin' 'bout.
     
  13. sjpetry thread starter macrumors 65816

    sjpetry

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2004
    Location:
    Tamarindo, Costa Rica
    #13
    Works! Thanks I unplugged the modem and plugged it back in. :eek:

    Best site ever! :D
     
  14. floatingspirit macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2001
    Location:
    Seattle, WA
    #14

    :cool:
     
  15. ftaok macrumors 601

    ftaok

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2002
    Location:
    East Coast
    #15
    Hey floatingspirit. I just noticed that you have the exact same Mac that I do. However, I'm running 10.2.8 and am hesitant to switch to Panther. Do you find the iBook is able to handle Panther as well as Jag? Thanks.

    Oh, and to stay on topic ...

    Getting a router (wired or wireless) will save tons of hassle with having to reset the modem everytime you change the computer. ;)
     
  16. sjpetry thread starter macrumors 65816

    sjpetry

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2004
    Location:
    Tamarindo, Costa Rica
    #16
    It's not my iBook, I just wanted to get it on the Internet at my house. :)

    Thanks again.
     

Share This Page