Cant get videos from camera onto imac

Discussion in 'Mac Basics and Help' started by derajfast, Apr 16, 2006.

  1. derajfast macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2004
    #1
    I took some photos and video on my digital camera this weekend. When i plug into the iMac, (its an older one, g5, 10.3, ilife 4), iphoto opens and imports the photos....but since its an older version of iphoto, it doesnt get the video (at least i think).....and the camera never mounts on the dektop so i cant go into the memory card folder ont he camera to pull the videos manually from there

    any ideas on how to get them, or make the camera mount?
     
  2. CoMpX macrumors 65816

    CoMpX

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2005
    Location:
    New Jersey
    #2
    Check iPhoto again. The movies will appear as pictures, but with a little camera icon on the bottom.
     
  3. derajfast thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2004
    #3
    no when i had that version of iphoto, i dont think it imported videos either

    its iphoto 4.....

    i thikn since iphoto 5 it imports vids though with that icon
     
  4. Eidorian macrumors Penryn

    Eidorian

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Location:
    Indianapolis
    #4
    Failing iPhoto, have you tried Image Capture? I've known iPhoto to import every media file it can find on your camera. It might not be able to handle them all though.
     
  5. derajfast thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2004
    #5
    but hwo would that explain the camera not mounting on the desktop
     
  6. Eidorian macrumors Penryn

    Eidorian

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Location:
    Indianapolis
    #6
    Camera's never mount to the desktop. If you're using a flash memory card reader to read some memory. That will mount to your desktop. Otherwise, iPhoto or Image Capture just pops to life.
     
  7. derajfast thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2004
    #7
    my 3 digital cameras ALWAYS mount on the desktop
     
  8. CoMpX macrumors 65816

    CoMpX

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2005
    Location:
    New Jersey
    #8
    Do they have additional memory cards in them? If they do, then the memory card itself will mount, but not the camera.
     
  9. derajfast thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2004
    #9
    well yes im not using the interal camera memory

    but its the same with this camera too......its on the additional card
     
  10. CanadaRAM macrumors G5

    CanadaRAM

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2004
    Location:
    On the Left Coast - Victoria BC Canada
    #10
    What ^^ was saying -- put the memory card into a USB memory card reader and it will mount on your desktop like any normal drive, and you can copy with the finder.

    Personally, I never cable the camera to the Mac, too much bother. It is much faster to use a $15 card reader and read the cards directly.
     
  11. calebjohnston macrumors 68000

    calebjohnston

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2006
    #11
    I have a few cameras, none of which mount to the desktop either. A card reader will, but they cost money.
     

Share This Page