Can't get wireless to work in Leopard

Discussion in 'OS X' started by Trippy Jr, Oct 26, 2007.

  1. macrumors member

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2006
    #1
    This is very annoying.

    Just flattened my Mac Pro HD for a new Leopard install. Went ahead and did it, all went fine... and now it won't connect to my wireless network using WEP, WPA, or anything apart from disabled.

    It just goes to "connection timed out" or "connection failed", leaving me with the only option of leaving my connection unsecured. This is driving me mad! There's surely no reason why this would become such a big issue.

    And yes, I have tried rebooting everything, etc.
     
  2. macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2007
    Location:
    Fairfax, VA
    #2
    I am having the same issue. The only way for me to connect is removing WEP. Other that the error messages you have been getting, I also get a message saying INCOMPATIBLE SECURITY. I am using an old Belkin wireless b to connect (I know it is too old but it has been working fine)
     
  3. macrumors 6502a

    I WAS the one

    Joined:
    May 16, 2006
    #3
    same here. My others macs with Tiger installed works fine it just the Leopard one that can't connect to a WEP secure router. it keep saying INCOMPATIBLE SECURITY.. anyone that can help us here?
     
  4. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2007
    #4
    i am having the same problem. i have a wireless access point that works fine with every other computer in the house except the Leopard MacBookPro15. You'd think that it wouldn't give me any problems, but it keeps saying INCOMPATIBLE SECURITY
     
  5. macrumors 6502a

    Cybix

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2006
    Location:
    Western Australia
    #5
    Did any of you do a software update after installing leopard, or are these issues directly from a basic leopard install without doing further updates?

    I'm experiencing NO WIRELESS at all on my G5 iMac after doing the latest software updates :)
     
  6. macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2007
    Location:
    Fairfax, VA
    #6
    it works fine with my iPhone

    And before now with tiger. What kind of WEP encryption are you guys using? I am using a 128 hex. Did u guys call apple support? I am planning on calling them tomorrow. I think this incompatiblity issueis closely linked to the keychain issue which apple fixed thru software update. It is too little too late since. My keychain is a mess already.
     
  7. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2007
    #7
    i just did the update (keychain and one other) on a freshly installed leopard macbookpro, and i am still getting INCOMPATIBLE SECURITY as a result.

    this purchase was a large jump into the mac world from a pc and i'm not overly impressed with it yet. it's given me nothing but trouble from day one, and this internet business is pushing me towards selling the damn thing while the value is high
     
  8. macrumors 6502

    Justinerator

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2007
    Location:
    Redondo Beach, CA
    #8
    new question...

    I was wondering how the 802.11n upgrades for the 2.16/2.33 work once you have installed leopard. Do you just install it like you do in tiger? Or is there another way? Thanks in advance!

    Justin
     
  9. macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2006
    #9
    After installing the keychain update I could no longer connect to my Airport. I was getting the Connection Failed and Connection Timeout errors. I turned off WPA security and now I can connect again. My connection did drop once, though, so that is another issue. With Tiger I never lost a connection and could use WPA without issue.
     
  10. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2008
    #10
    Workaround for Leopard "incompatible security"

    uite by accident, i discovered a practical albeit cumbersome way to get back on your wireless network.

    1. When you awaken Leopard you get the "None of your preferred networks are available" message.

    Cancel it.

    2. Ask Safari to open any page. It will, of course, hang with the message "You are not connected to the Internet."

    Click on the "Network Diagnostics..." button in the message box.

    3. You should get a dialog box titled "Network Diagnostics". The list of "locations" should have the name of your usual network setup highlighted in gray. All the network status signals down the left side will be red.

    Click on the "Continue" button in the dialog box.

    4. You should see a fresh Network Diagnostics box subtitled "Choose network port configuration"

    Click on the AirPort radio button.
    Then click on continue.

    5. The Network Diagnostics box should be refreshed. You should now see "Select AirPort network" as a subtitle, and one or more wireless network names listed.

    Click on your wireless network name (the one your AirPort knows).
    Click the Continue button.

    6. Type your password in the Password box in the next refresh. (No need for a $. Just your password.) (Don't bother checking the Remember password... box. It seems non-functional.)

    7. Click the Continue button.

    8. The Network Fairy awakens, makes all the status signals on the left green, turns on your wireless signal strength icon in the top bar, loads your Safari page, and leaves you with the message: "Your Internet connection appears to be working correctly."

    9. Beats me why the "other" WEP password entry process consistently fails.

    Fred
     
  11. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2008
    #11
    Sometimes you need to update the Firmware of the Access Point

    Hello,

    I have the same problem, once I update my Mac, I cannot access my Westell Model: A90-327W15 it was working before until I update my Mac. I tried everything from no security, MAC Address filter, WEP, and WPA didn't work. Then I figure it might be the firmware, I am a Verizon customer and I am using their: Westell Model: A90-327W15

    So I download the new Firmware (Windows XP & Ethernet Cable required) from here: ( you wont find this on Westell, they said to call Verizon)

    http://download.verizon.net/webdownload/firmware/upgrades/westell/A90-327W15_VER_03_0

    Once I did the FIRMWARE update, then restart and I get connection right away. So the problem is not MAC (well, kinda) but the Access Point.

    I didn't have the solution for other Accesspoint but I am sure the same thing will work.

    Good luck,

    FarJang
     
  12. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2009
    #12
    Can't get wireless to work in Leopard

    Hi,

    It looks like a lot of us are having similar problems.
    I followed Fredstahl's directions but got stuck on:
    "Click on your wireless network name (the one your AirPort knows)."

    My wireless network name was not among the wireless names listed.
    The times I when I am able to connect, my wireless name IS listed.

    When I had the option to connect manually by entering my Network name, I get "Connection timeout". This is about the third time this has happened to me.

    A few minutes ago, I was connected... all morning in fact. And the PC in my house is still able to connect, so my wireless network is working fine.

    Just before I found myself disconnected, I had been working on reserve power, so I attached the power cord and closed my laptop (a new MacBook Pro, Mac OS 10.5.8, Snow Leopard not yet installed). When I opened it a few minutes after closing it, I was no longer connected and got the message: None of your preferred networks are available.

    The last two times this happened, I got nowhere, so I left the computer for a while. When I returned, all was working just fine. Fortunately so far, nothing I was doing was so urgent I couldn't wait.

    There MUST be a fix for this. And it must be a MAC problem. My internal wireless network is not locked. It just requires that all devices using it register their M.A.C. numbers, so it's not a security problem, either. This is just baffling.
     
  13. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2009
    #13
    be patient

    I looked this thread up because I was having what seemed like the exact problem described here. Everything had worked perfectly, then I traveled out of town and was using the unsecured wireless at my parents house for a few days. When I returned home it suddenly had trouble finding my home networks.

    No software upgrade had occurred to blame. What I've realized is that once I got upset with the process, I would click on the wireless icon on the right side of the menubar and watch or try to assist the MBP finding the network. DON'T DO THAT. My MBP is back to reliably finding the secured network at home without any real change on my part other than my realization that I need to give it a moment or two after I awake it from sleep to negotiate with the network. That seems to happen MUCH more reliably if I don't open the menu item. I'm not saying there's not a software flaw in what happens when you open that menu item or that the menu doesn't need to be used when you do travel between networks, but when you're home patience seems to be the most effective strategy. YMMV, of course.
     
  14. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2004
    #14
    Wireless - Verizon & Mac Mini problems ????

    I realize this is an old thread.
    But was this problem ever resolved?

    I purchased a version 2,1 Mac mini used and have not been able to connect to my existing Verizon Westell DSL wireless.

    I have had a 27" iMac on this system for almost three years without a problem.

    My Mac Mini would connect but like other folk I have the same problem with it timing out.

    I contacted Verizon and the service rep even took control of my Mini and was unable to make a proper connection. She then had a new DSL Westell sent for replacement. I made the replacement and established a good connection with my iMac again but still no service for my Mini. I went through the process again with a service rep and he told me I must have a bad Mac. I am thinking that is NOT the problem and it must be something simple.
    #1 does anyone know of a fix for this problem?
    #2 could I bypass the internal wireless receiver in the MacMini and just add this airlink to the mini via USB and solve my issues? http://tinyurl.com/y8vys85

    This is not only confusing but annoying.

    Any help would be appreciated. I need to do something by tomorrow.

    Jim
     
  15. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2004
    #15
    Connection help....

    Giving this a bump - not sure if it posted

     

Share This Page