Can't Homeshare with ATV2 or use remote app

Discussion in 'Apple TV and Home Theater' started by HT Guy, Sep 30, 2010.

  1. macrumors member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2009
    #1
    My ATV2 is installed and playing well. I cannot get my iMac to show up in the "computers" section of the ATV menu. Home sharing is enabled on the iMac. I have made sure that my Firewall is correctly configured. All my devices are on the same network.

    I am having the same problem with the Remote app on my iPad. Neither my iMac nor my ATV2 show up on the iPad remote app. I am using the same homeshare account for all devices. I did get my iMac account to show up briefly last night, but the next time I tried to access it it was gone.

    I have shut down and rebooted all devices and deleted and reloaded the remote app on the iPad.

    Any suggestions?

    TIA
     
  2. macrumors 65816

    WiiDSmoker

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2009
    Location:
    Hermitage, TN
    #2
    Ran into this last night, make sure you are on the latest iTunes version.
     
  3. macrumors 65816

    Mr Kram

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2008
    #3
    kind of obvious, but all need to be on the same network too.
     
  4. thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2009
    #4
    I have iTunes 10.01. I looked for updates a few moments ago and it said I had the latest version.
     
  5. thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2009
    #5
    They are on the same Network.
     
  6. macrumors 65816

    Mr Kram

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2008
    #6
    regarding the remote app, are you saying that you tried to pair both devices and the ipad can see neither of them?
     
  7. macrumors 601

    jaw04005

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2003
    Location:
    AR
    #7
    Are you sure you’re using your home sharing Apple ID and not some secondary Apple ID (like for the kids, etc)?
     
  8. thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2009
    #8
    Is it correct to use your iTunes id and pw as the homeshare id and pw? If so, then I am doing this correctly.

    We have 3 users on the iMac. I authorized all three users w/my id for homeshare. Their libraries show up as shared in my iTunes. It is just the remote and ATV2 I am having a problem with.

    This is a bummer. Without home sharing I would have just kept using my Roku and Airport Express.
     
  9. macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2008
    #9
    Homeshare has been flaky for me on my 2 ATV2's as well. I can get the library to show up, but it doesn't believe I have TV shows in my library - which I do.

    I'm thinking there is some sort of bug in the current release of iTunes having to do with Homeshare.
     
  10. thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2009
    #10
    At 8:34p.m. three iTunes libraries and my ATV2 were displayed on my iPad Remote app. I would like to know why the iPad Remote app is so inconsistant.
     
  11. thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2009
    #11
    Okay... I just got a taste of the iPad Remote app and it was awesome. I am hoping it continues to work on a consistent basis. Also, all my other Homesharing libraries were displayed on the ATV2. Fantastic... If it can do this consistently it will be worth twice the price.

    I made no changes whatsoever to all my other settings.
     
  12. thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2009
    #12
    The video on the ATV2 looks good. However, my audio/video receiver that my video runs through has an HQV Reon upscaler which is much better than average. I am watching Kick-Ass now and it looks very good.
     
  13. macrumors member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2009
    #13
    I'm having the same issue, tv shows not showing up at all and my only two of my Movies. Ugh on iTunes Home Share could be awesome when it worked but a lot of times it was just flaky.
     
  14. thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2009
    #14
    I reset my router and now the iMac, ATV2 and iPad remote app are all working fabulously. I am hoping I will not have to reset the router every day.

    When everything is working correctly the ATV2 really is all that and a bag of chips.
     

Share This Page