Can't Install Tiger on PowerPC G4

Discussion in 'PowerPC Macs' started by aaronhead14, Mar 10, 2009.

  1. macrumors member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2009
    #1
    Hello,

    I just obtained a PowerPC G4 Tower, but there was no hard drive in it. Because of this, i put in an older 20 gb hard drive i had just laying around. It is from an old Windows PC I had, but I dont know if thats a problem or not.
    Anyways, when I try to boot from the Tiger disc, nothing happens. I have tried holding down C when I turn the mac on, but that doesn't help at all. I just always get the mac icon with a question mark in the middle of the screen.
    I am just wondering, is this anything to do with the PC hard drive I put in the mac? Or is there something else that I am doing wrong? I just want Tiger to be installed on the computer.

    Thanks
     
  2. macrumors 6502a

    Keniff

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2008
    Location:
    United Kingdom
    #2
    It's just a guess, but you mentioned it was an 'older' HD.
    Is empty, or at least not full?
    The Tiger system requirements say you need at least 3GB of space, amongst other stuff.
     
  3. macrumors member

    Mariusz1977

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2008
    #3
    Check to see what kind of optical drive is inside the mac. If it's a CD drive, and the Tiger disk is a DVD, then it won't boot to the disk & this is one condition where you'll get the "Question Mark". I've made this mistake :)
     
  4. thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2009
    #4
    Yeah, I made sure that it was a DVD drive that I was using, so that shouldn't be the problem. But yeah, i believe that there were some things on the hard drive. Its a 20gb hard drive, and i think there were some photos or something on it. But does it make a difference that i took it out of a Windows PC? Im wondering, do i need to reformat it or something?

    Thanks:apple:
     
  5. macrumors 68040

    California

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2004
    #5
    Yes you do.

    Go to disk utility and erase and reformat.
     
  6. thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2009
    #6
    Yeah, but I can't go into Disk Utility when I don't have an OS installed. That's what I'm trying to do; install OS X Tiger.
     
  7. macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2007
    #7
    You can access disk utility from the install disk, the system does not need to be installed.
     
  8. thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2009
    #8
    Oh cool! yeah, I didn't know that. Thanks. But how exactly do you get into Disk Utility? Is there a keyboard command that needs to be pressed when it's booting up?

    Thanks a ton :apple:
     
  9. macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2009
    #9
    During the install process at the status bar at the top of the screen, there should be a tab called UTILITIES?. I dont remember what its called. Just check each tab, and one of them has DISK UTILITY listed in them. Then just click it to run it. Sorry, but I dont remember what its called, just quickly check all the tabs. And you do this before actually installing anything, and even before you select a drive to install on. If you want you can do a FULL format instead of a QUICK format. To do this, when in disk utility, and when you're ready to erase the disk, there should be a button towards the bottom right of the screen that says security options. Click it and make sure ZERO OUT DATA is selected(Im pretty sure its zero out data). This type of format will fully erase everything. Then you can proceed to install as you normally would. Hope this helps you. Post if your unclear about anything. :)
     
  10. thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2009
    #10
    ok cool, thanks. the only problem though is that i cant get past that dumb mac/question mark icon when i turn the mac on. Even when hold down C and try to boot from the disc i still get the icon. :( ahh! i dont know what to do!
     
  11. macrumors 68040

    California

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2004
    #11
    Try holding the D key down. For DVD. It should get you past the question mark.

    You are trying to boot from a retail version of Tiger, not an install disc from a specific computer, right?
     
  12. thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2009
    #12
    Okay, I tried holding down the D key, but that didn't do it either! I keep getting that same question mark icon. On the icon there's a purple folder, and on that folder is the mac logo and question mark that keep flashing back and forth. Here's an image:

    [​IMG]

    Thanks
     
  13. macrumors 68040

    Eric S.

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2008
    Location:
    Santa Cruz Mountains, California
    #13
    Have you tried holding down the option key when powering up? If the system recognizes your DVD as a bootable disk, it should show up.
     
  14. thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2009
    #14
    Alright guys, thanks for all your help. But I just figured out that my dvd drive was the problem. It wasnt reading my boot disc correctly, so i replaced it with another one i had and that fixed my whole problem. But thanks anyways guys!
     

Share This Page