Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

Bosslenz

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Sep 15, 2011
I can't be the only one having this problem. I'm a Mac Newbie but I'm good at following instructions.

Firstly, I'm running Mac OS X v 10.7.1 on A 2011 Macbook Pro 2.3GHZ quadcore w 8g Ram, a 500g 7200 rpm HD and a 750g 7200 rpm HD in the optical drive slot.

I keep getting the Black screen with the flashing cursor on installation of Windows 7 X64 Ultimate. Here's all the steps:

1. I removed the wireless keyboard and mouse so there were no bluetooth problems.

2. I created an MBRFAT boot device formatted as MS-DOS Fat32 with AutoUnattend.xml and the "drivers" folder as instructed in http://support.apple.com/kb/TS3173 , (one on an SD card and one on a USB drive -- I tried to boot with the each one using the Windows 7 installation disk and still the black screen with the cursor)

3. I followed the instructions in the Boot Camp Installation & Setup Guide. Still Black Screen.

4. I did all of this under Mac OS X Leopard and assumed that maybe the Boot Camp Assistant was out of date. I then updated to the latest version of Leopard... still black screen.

5. I then downloaded Lion, installed it thinking that the Bootcamp Assistant, now V4.0 was more up-to-date... black screen.

6. Before you ask, although I'm using an external DVD drive, Bootcamp sees it and only begins when I turn it on. The doc also says I can do it with an external.

7. And Yes, I am using a Legitimate copy of Windows 7 Ultimate 64 bit that I installed under VMWARE Fusion 3 in record time. Before starting, I completely uninstalled VMWARE including the area that held the Windows 7 partition.

Team, I've tried to be thorough and give you a complete picture of what I've gone through this entire week and to document the process so others don't waste as much time.