Can't install XP on Mac Pro w/Boot Camp... :(

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by slabbius, Sep 27, 2006.

  1. slabbius macrumors member

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2006
    #1
    I try to install xp and when I'm at the screen that requires me to either press "enter" to install xp, press f3, or press "R" i believe, it doesn't recognize any keystrokes and just sits there. I've tried several times but nothing.

    I am trying to install XP SP2 Corporate. Will this make any difference?
     
  2. Eidorian macrumors Penryn

    Eidorian

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Location:
    Indianapolis
    #2
    Have you tried a different keyboard? Is it wireless?

    As long as you have your volume license key you should be fine.
     
  3. slabbius thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2006
    #3
    I'm using a factory wired apple keyboard. odd thing is i installed the same copy onto my mbp just to test it out and it worked fine.
     
  4. suneohair macrumors 68020

    suneohair

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2006
    #4
    I just started having this problem too. Windows XP on my Mac Pro hasnt run successfully yet.

    However, today I got my ACD. I hooked it up and went to try it again the install is doing what yours is doing. Not registering the keys. Strange because just last night it was working.

    The only thing I changed was I am now using the ACD usb hub. I am going to plug it into the Mac Pro usb ports and see if that works.

    Eidorian: what the heck does this have to do with a volume license? :confused:
     
  5. twoodcc macrumors P6

    twoodcc

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2005
    Location:
    Right side of wrong
    #5
    i had a similar problem with my macbook.

    try using different usb ports, and try with caps lock on
     
  6. knome macrumors 6502

    knome

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2006
    #6
    you have to plug it directly into the computer, no hubs allowed.
     
  7. Eidorian macrumors Penryn

    Eidorian

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Location:
    Indianapolis
    #7
    Just covering all the bases from the OP.
     
  8. slabbius thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2006
    #8
    nope. nope. and nope again. i plugged into the rear usb and nothing, front usb the same. works perfect in osx yet doesn't even want to play in ms-dos. :confused:
     
  9. twoodcc macrumors P6

    twoodcc

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2005
    Location:
    Right side of wrong
    #9
    did you try caps lock on? you might have to turn caps lock up right when you press the power button
     
  10. seanf macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2006
    Location:
    UK
    #10
    Have you got a wired Mighty Mouse? If yes, try unplugging this before you start the installation.

    Sean :)
     
  11. knome macrumors 6502

    knome

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2006
    #11
    try doing this, open the case (make sure the computer is turned off) find the button just above where the video card sits. (its really the only button on the mother board you can see, like 3/4cm.) push that button then try installing xp. I was having some issues with my keyboard and my hubs, including the root hubs in the computer in xp and osx. someone told me to press the button and it fixed not only that but many other litte problems.
     
  12. slabbius thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2006
    #12
    CAPS LOCK ON. nothing....
    not using might mouse, using a red logitech gaming mouse... so yeah
    i should try that button thing.... it sounds promising
     

Share This Page