Can't launch iTunes in 32-bit mode

Discussion in 'OS X Mavericks (10.9)' started by rockstarjoe, Oct 21, 2013.

  1. macrumors 6502a

    rockstarjoe

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2006
    Location:
    washington dc
    #1
    Since upgrading to Mavericks, I am no longer able to launch iTunes in 32-bit mode. Anyone else have this issue? To test it, go to your applications folder and right-click on the iTunes application bundle, and select Get Info. Then check the box that says "Open in 32-bit mode". Then try and launch iTunes. I get this message:

    "iTunes Requires 64-bit mode" (see attached screen shot)

    This is iTunes version 11.1.1 which launches in 32-bit mode fine under 10.8.
     

    Attached Files:

  2. Moderator

    maflynn

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2009
    Location:
    Boston
    #2
    Looks like they dropped the 32bit code tree for the app. Not surprising since they've been selling 64bit computers for a while.
     
  3. macrumors 601

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2007
    #3
    Why are you trying to run iTunes in 32-bit mode anyway?
     
  4. rockstarjoe, Oct 21, 2013
    Last edited: Oct 21, 2013

    thread starter macrumors 6502a

    rockstarjoe

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2006
    Location:
    washington dc
    #4
    Why would they still offer the option for 32-bit mode, I wonder?

    I use 32 bit mode because it allows iTunes to use older quicktime codecs.

    EDIT - just did a clean install to another drive and had the same issue. Can anyone else out there give it a quick try for me?
     
  5. macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2009
    #5
    Bummer. The best iTunes animations do not work in 64 bit mode.
     
  6. thread starter macrumors 6502a

    rockstarjoe

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2006
    Location:
    washington dc
    #6
    Yeah that too! So did you have the same problem on your machine?
     
  7. macrumors member

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2010
    #7
    It's not just your machine, I don't think. I am pretty sure it's everyone's. I tried launching it and it wouldn't let me do it in 32-bit mode. There were some songs that need something from QuickTime that isn't available in 64-bit, so now I have to go through and get new versions of those songs.
     
  8. thread starter macrumors 6502a

    rockstarjoe

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2006
    Location:
    washington dc
    #8
    That's a shame. Hopefully it is just a bug and will get fixed eventually. Thanks for trying.
     
  9. macrumors 68040

    SlCKB0Y

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2012
    Location:
    Sydney, Australia
    #9
    Join the 21st century maybe?
     
  10. thread starter macrumors 6502a

    rockstarjoe

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2006
    Location:
    washington dc
    #10
    Thanks :roll eyes:

    I submitted a bug report. I also noticed that other apps like Logic Pro 9 which offer the option of 32 bit mode still operate fine under 10.9. Only iTunes seems to have this issue.
     
  11. Moderator

    maflynn

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2009
    Location:
    Boston
    #11
    Has logic pro 9 been updated since the release of Mavericks? That's probably why the 32bit option works.

    I'd say its not a bug but an overt decision by Apple to drop 32bit support.
     
  12. thread starter macrumors 6502a

    rockstarjoe

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2006
    Location:
    washington dc
    #12
    I hear you, but what I'm saying is that iTunes 11.1.1 opens in 32bit mode in 10.8 but not 10.9... so no update there either. Same version.
     
  13. macrumors member

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2010
    #13
    I think iTunes needs something to run in 32 bit that was removed from the operating system, like certain QuickTime codecs. I don't think it's a bug or a problem with iTunes, but a conscious decision made by Apple.
     
  14. macrumors G3

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2002
    Location:
    Sol III - Terra
    #14
    After some thought, Quicktime has to be the issue since it's 64bit only in Mavericks.
     
  15. thread starter macrumors 6502a

    rockstarjoe

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2006
    Location:
    washington dc
    #15
    Boom. That is probably it. Thanks for the info!
     
  16. macrumors 6502a

    Marble

    Joined:
    May 13, 2003
    Location:
    Tucson, AZ
    #16
    Crap. I won't be able to play any of my numerous OGG audio files in iTunes now, since the Xiph plugin is 32-bit only. :mad:
     

Share This Page