Cant make animated gifs play smooth..Help....

Discussion in 'Design and Graphics' started by freeny, Jun 21, 2006.

  1. freeny macrumors 68020

    freeny

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2005
    Location:
    Location: Location:
    #1
    Here is an animation I am working on. I have played with everything in the frame delay in Image Ready and cant get this to play any smoother. Can you do 30fps in Image ready? I even tried "no delay" with no avail...still choppy. Any help or suggestions would be appreciated...
     

    Attached Files:

  2. xli_ne macrumors 6502a

    xli_ne

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2005
    Location:
    Center of the Nation
    #2
    i dont know much bout image ready, but is there enough frames to make the animation smooth as you want it?
     
  3. freeny thread starter macrumors 68020

    freeny

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2005
    Location:
    Location: Location:
    #3
    I dont think that should be an issue but I could be wrong... I have seen other animations on thi site the same length and they play smooth.

    Im not an expert at animated gifs so Please forgive my ignorance:eek:
     
  4. JasonElise1983 macrumors 6502a

    JasonElise1983

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2003
    Location:
    Between a rock and a midget
    #4
    ok, i had a look at your gif you created. You could really use more layers, but if you don't want more layers, change all the no delay or 0 sec. frames to .05 seconds and leave the other frames as they are. This has more to do with the web browser than your gif..i think, but it will help...see
     

    Attached Files:

  5. Mord macrumors G4

    Mord

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2003
    Location:
    UK
    #5
    it's not too bad, not nearly as bad as my avatar
     
  6. freeny thread starter macrumors 68020

    freeny

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2005
    Location:
    Location: Location:
    #6
    So you added frames? Empty frames? Layers?? Not sure what you did:confused: Your version is definately smoother....
     
  7. JasonElise1983 macrumors 6502a

    JasonElise1983

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2003
    Location:
    Between a rock and a midget
    #7
    I couldn't ad frames because all i had was your gif to work with, but i did exactly what i said in my message. I changed all the "no delay" or "0 second" layers to "0.05" seconds. That's all. It has something to do with web browsers no understanding "0" so they put in their own amount (or something like that, i'm no tech person, but this is what one kind of told me one time) so giving it a very short time (0.05 seconds) makes the webbrowser understand it better. I guess you could make is shorter (0.02). Try it. In ImageReady when click on the times, select other and type it in. Hope that cleared it up.
     
  8. JasonElise1983 macrumors 6502a

    JasonElise1983

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2003
    Location:
    Between a rock and a midget
    #8
    though, now that you say it...adding more frames will make is run smoother while lasting longer. Hope you don't mind...but like this. This isn't great, because i only had what you did to go by, but here it is anyway.

    Edit: you can download both of them and see the times they are and the frames i added to the last one.
    Love the animation!!!!!
     

    Attached Files:

Share This Page