Can't open AEBS ports

Discussion in 'Mac OS X Server, Xserve, and Networking' started by zerocustom1989, Apr 15, 2012.

  1. macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2007
    #1
    Hey guys,

    I'm trying top open some ports for VPN on my Airport extreme, but regardless of what the GUI says, various port checking websites show the port as closed.

    I'm not sure how to force this thing to open ports for me if I've already gone and used the utility provided.
     
  2. macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2006
    Location:
    Washington State
  3. thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2007
    #3
    Ah sorry yes,

    I'm attempting to forward ports to an iMac that I've configured with a local static IP. Some of the ports appear open, but others don't.

    For Example, I have in Airport Utility that port 500 should be open, but a Port scan via network utility shows that it's not. Also an external check via http://www.yougetsignal.com/tools/open-ports/ shows it's closed too.
     
  4. macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2006
    Location:
    Washington State
    #4
    Are you entering them one at a time into the boxes, in multiples, or are you forwarding ranges of ports?
     
  5. thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2007
    #5
    The ones automatically set up by OSX Server are multiples. No ranges. I tried another port checker that said the port was refused, meaning that a service that required that port isnt running.

    I checked the vpnd process and it is indeed running.
     
  6. TEG
    macrumors 604

    TEG

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2002
    Location:
    Langley, Washington
    #6
    Are the ports also open on your modem? Most ISPs block incoming ports, so you may have to call tech support to have them open the ports and forward them to your AEBS.

    TEG
     
  7. thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2007
    #7
    The modem isnt a router, so I dont think I have to worry about port forwarding. I'll call their support to make sure it's not their end, but my port forwarding tool indicated they were not being blocked by a firewall or the ISP and instead noted that they could not find a running service.

    I'm tailing the log file of the vpnd process and it's just saying 'Listening for connections...'
     
  8. TEG
    macrumors 604

    TEG

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2002
    Location:
    Langley, Washington
    #8
    Unless you are having to put a static address into the ABES, then it has some sort of routing capabilities, and ISPs often block ports, even on static modems to prevent 'unauthorized' services.

    TEG
     
  9. thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2007
    #9
    So I think I am incorrectly entering my host name when trying to connect to the vpn.

    1) I have a <name>.dyndns.org address that resolves to my VPN server's IP.
    2) I currently have a OSX Server hostname of <name>.cloud.private.

    When trying to SSH into my machine locally via the .private address I get a connection error, but trying non-locally with the .dyndns.org address works great.

    Have I made the correct assumption that internally I must use the .cloud.private address? and Externally use my DDNS address? If so, why did the local address not function?

    When trying to connect to VPN neither the external or local addresses work, but I figure I'd get ssh working first.

    Any tips?
     
  10. macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2006
    Location:
    Washington State
    #10
    Since you don't have a valid FQDN, I would try SSHing just to <name> internally.
     

Share This Page